§6804. Disturbing schools

A person who enters the property of a public or private school or another place of instruction during or out of school hours, while the teacher or student is present, and willfully interrupts or disturbs the teacher or student by loud speaking, rude or indecent behavior, signs or gestures, or engages in hostile, aggressive or threatening behavior toward a student, teacher, administrator or other staff member, or willfully interrupts a school by prowling about the building, making noises, throwing missiles at the schoolhouse or disturbing the school, commits a civil offense and shall forfeit not less than \$200 nor more than \$500. [PL 2001, c. 189, §1 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1981, c. 693, §§5,8 (NEW). PL 2001, c. 189, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.