## §905. Investigation when custody of children involved

Whenever in a divorce action the custody of a minor child is involved, the court may request the department to investigate conditions and circumstances of the child and the child's parents. Upon completion of the investigation, the department shall submit a written report to the court and to counsel of record at least 3 days before the date of hearing. The report may not be further copied or distributed by anyone. A person who violates a provision of this section commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not more than \$500 may be adjudged. Upon request of an interested party, the court shall require the person making the report to testify at the time of hearing. Whoever participates in making a report under this section or participates in a judicial proceeding as a result of the report is immune from civil or criminal liability, unless that person acted in bad faith or with malicious purpose. [PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. B, §2 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. E, §2 (AFF).]

If the court requests an investigation for purposes other than suspected abuse or neglect as defined in Title 22, chapter 1071, the court shall order either or both parties to pay to the department part or all of the costs of services under this chapter, unless the court has made a finding of inability to pay. Revenue from investigations or services provided under this chapter are dedicated to the department to defray the cost of these services. [PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. B, §2 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. E, §2 (AFF).]

## SECTION HISTORY

## PL 1995, c. 694, §B2 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 694, §E2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.