Maine Revised Statutes
Title 18-A: PROBATE CODE
Article :

§5-405. NOTICE

(a). On apetition for appointment of a conservator or other protective order or on a petition under
section 5-416, the person to be protected or the protected person must be served personally with notice
of the proceeding at |least 14 days before the date of the hearing. Waiver by the person to be protected or
the protected person is not effective unless he attends the hearing or, unless minority is the reason for the
proceeding, waiver is confirmed in an interview with the visitor. The court may order that the petition and
hearing notice be served by the visitor.

[ 1985, c. 656, §3 (RPR) .]

(a-1). The spouse or domestic partner and all adult children of the person to be protected or the
protected person or, if none, the person's parents or closest adult relative or, if none, afriend must be given
notice of the proceeding. Notice under this subsection must be served by certified mail, restricted delivery and
return receipt requested, at least 14 days before the date of the hearing.

If the certified mail to the spouse or domestic partner is not delivered and that person can be found within the
State, notice must be served personally on that person.

If the certified mail to the spouse or domestic partner is not delivered, that person can not be found within the
State and the certified mail is not delivered to any adult children, notice must be served personally on an adult
child who can be found within the State.

If notice is served on the person's parents or closest adult relative and the certified mail is not delivered, notice
must be served personally on a parent or the adult relative if a parent or adult relative can be found within the
State.

If notice is served on the person's friend and the certified mail is not delivered, notice must be served
personally on the friend if the friend can be found within the State.

Except as otherwise provided in this subsection and subsection (@), notice must be given as prescribed by
court rule under section 1-401.

[ 2003, c. 672, §14 (AMVD) .]

(b). Notice of apetition for appointment of a conservator or other initial protective order, and of any
subsequent hearing, must be given to any person who has filed a request for notice under section 5-406 and to
interested persons and other persons as the court may direct. Except as otherwise provided in subsections (a)
and (a-1), notice shall be given as prescribed by court rule under section 1-401.

[ 1985, c. 656, §5 (AVD) .]
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The State of Maine clams a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this materia, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrightsand other rightsto statutory text arereserved by the Sate of Maine. Thetext included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legidatureand iscurrent through October 1, 2016. Thetextissubject to
changewithout notice. It isa version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Satutes
Annotated and supplementsfor certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes aso requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goa
is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or providelegd adviceor interpretation of Mainelaw to the public.
If you need legd assistance, please contact aquaified attorney.

| 2 Generated
10.13.2016




