§9-311. Interstate placements

1. Certificate of compliance; bring child to this State. A person or agency who intends to bring a child to this State from another state for the purpose of adoption must provide to the court the certification of compliance as required by the department pursuant to Title 22, chapter 1153 or 1154, as applicable.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

2. Certificate of compliance; remove child from this State. A person or agency who intends to remove a child from this State for the purpose of adoption in another state must obtain from the department certification of compliance with Title 22, chapter 1153 or 1154, as applicable, prior to the removal of the child from this State.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

- **3. Department certification required.** The court may not grant a petition to adopt a child who has been brought to or will be removed from this State for the purpose of adoption without department certification of compliance with Title 22, chapter 1153 or 1154, as applicable.
- [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- **4.** Civil violation. An agency or person who fails to comply with this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 and not more than \$5,000 may be adjudged.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. F, §1 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.