## §5-116. Request for notice

A person that is interested in the welfare of a respondent, individual subject to guardianship or conservatorship or individual subject to a protective arrangement instead of guardianship or conservatorship and that is not otherwise entitled to notice under this Act may file a request with the court for notice. The court shall send or deliver a copy of the request to the guardian, to the conservator if one has been appointed and to the individual who is subject to the guardianship, conservatorship or protective arrangement. The guardian, conservator and the individual who is subject to the guardianship, conservatorship or other protective arrangement may file an objection to the demand for notice within 60 days. If an objection is filed, the court shall hold a hearing on the request. If the court approves the request, the court shall give notice of the approval to the guardian or conservator if one has been appointed or to the respondent if no guardian or conservator has been appointed. The request must include a statement showing the interest of the person making it and the address of the person or an attorney for the person to whom notice is to be given. If the court approves the request or if no objection is filed within 60 days then the requesting party is entitled to notice. [PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. A, §12 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. F, §1 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. A, §12 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.