§3956. Electric fences

No person or individual may sell, utilize, install or have installed within this State equipment, devices or methods whereby fence wires may be energized with electricity unless a standard type of controller is used, which has the approval of the Underwriter's Laboratories and carries such label thereon or has the approved listing of the Department of Industrial Cooperation at the University of Maine System. [PL 1985, c. 779, §41 (AMD).]

Any violation of this section shall be punishable by a fine of not more than \$100 or by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or by both.

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1985, c. 779, §41 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.