## §1703. Issue of duplicate receipts not so marked

A warehouse, or any officer's agent, or servant of a warehouse, who issues or aids in issuing a duplicate or additional negotiable receipt for goods knowing that a former negotiable receipt for the same goods or any part of them is outstanding and uncanceled, without plainly placing upon the face thereof the word "Duplicate", except in the case of a lost or destroyed receipt after proceedings as provided for in Title 11, section 7-1402, is guilty of a crime, and upon conviction must be punished for each offense by a fine of not more than \$5,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 5 years, or by both. [PL 2009, c. 324, Pt. B, §46 (AMD); PL 2009, c. 324, Pt. B, §48 (AFF).]

## **SECTION HISTORY**

PL 2009, c. 324, Pt. B, §46 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 324, Pt. B, §48 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.