## §1611. Disguising horses in premium shows

Whoever, for the purpose of competing for purses or premiums, knowingly and designedly enters or drives any horse that shall have been painted or disguised, or that represents any other or different horse from the one which is purported to be entered, or shall knowingly and designedly, for the purpose of competing for premiums or purses enter or drive a horse in a class to which it does not properly belong shall be punished by a fine of not more than \$500 or by imprisonment for not more than 6 months, and such horse, after such notice to the owner as the court may order and a hearing thereon, may be forfeited in the discretion of the court and sold; 1/2 of the net proceeds of such sale shall go to the informant and the other 1/2 to the county in which the offense is committed. The pecuniary penalty shall be enforced by indictment and the forfeiture by a libel filed by the informant and proceedings in the manner provided in Title 33, chapter 21.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.