Maine Revised Statutes

Title 17-A: MAINE CRIMINAL CODE
Chapter 15: THEFT

8356-A. THEFT OF LOST, MISLAID OR MISTAKENLY DELIVERED PROPERTY

1. A personisquilty of theft if:

A. The person obtains or exercises control over the property of another that the person knows to have
been lost or mislaid or to have been delivered under a mistake as to the identity of the recipient or as

to the nature or amount of the property and, with the intent to deprive the owner of the property at any
time subsequent to acquiring it, the person fails to take reasonable measures to return it. Violation of this
paragraphisaClassE crime; or [ 2001, c. 383, 841 (NEW; 2001, c. 383, 8156
(AFF) . ]

B. The person violates paragraph A and:

(1) The value of the property is more than $10,000. Violation of this subparagraph is a Class B
crime;

(2) The property stolen is afirearm or an explosive device. Violation of this subparagraph is a Class
B crime;

(3) The person is armed with a dangerous weapon at the time of the offense. Violation of this
subparagraph is a Class B crime;

(4) The value of the property is more than $1,000 but not more than $10,000. Violation of this
subparagraph isa Class C crime;

(5) The value of the property is more than $500 but not more than $1,000. Violation of this
subparagraph isa Class D crime; or

(6) The person has 2 or more prior convictions for any combination of the Maine offenses listed

in this subparagraph or for engaging in substantially similar conduct to that of the Maine offenses
listed in this subparagraph in another jurisdiction. The Maine offenses are: theft; any violation of
section 401 in which the crime intended to be committed inside the structure is theft; any violation
of section 405 in which the crime intended to be committed inside the motor vehicle is theft; any
violation of section 651; any violation of section 702, 703 or 708; or attempts to commit any

of these crimes. Section 9-A governs the use of prior convictions when determining a sentence.
Violation of this subparagraphisaClassC crime. [ 2007, c¢. 476, 813 (AMD).]

[ 2007, c. 476, §13 (AWD) .]
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