§254. Sexual abuse of minors

- 1. A person is guilty of sexual abuse of a minor if:
- A. The person engages in a sexual act with another person, not the actor's spouse, who is either 14 or 15 years of age and the actor is at least 5 years older than the other person. Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime; [PL 2001, c. 383, §21 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
- A-1. The person violates paragraph A and the actor knows that the other person is related to the actor within the 2nd degree of consanguinity. Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime; [PL 2001, c. 383, §21 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
- A-2. The person violates paragraph A and the actor is at least 10 years older than the other person. Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime; [PL 2001, c. 383, §21 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
- B. [PL 1989, c. 401, Pt. A, §5 (RP).]
- C. The person is at least 21 years of age and engages in a sexual act with another person, not the actor's spouse, who is either 16 or 17 years of age and is a student enrolled in a private or public elementary, secondary or special education school, facility or institution and the actor is a teacher, employee or other official in the school district, school union, educational unit, school, facility or institution in which the student is enrolled. Violation of this paragraph is a Class E crime; [PL 2001, c. 383, §21 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
- D. The person violates paragraph C and the actor knows that the student is related to the actor within the 2nd degree of consanguinity. Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime; or [PL 2011, c. 464, §6 (AMD).]
- E. The person violates paragraph C and the actor is at least 10 years older than the student. Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime. [PL 2011, c. 464, §7 (AMD).]
- F. [PL 2011, c. 464, §8 (RP).] [PL 2011, c. 464, §§6-8 (AMD).]
- 2. It is a defense to a prosecution under subsection 1, paragraphs A, A-1, A-2 and F, that the actor reasonably believed the other person is at least 16 years of age. [PL 2003, c. 138, §4 (AMD).]
- 3. [PL 2001, c. 383, §21 (RP); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
- **4.** As used in this section, "related to the actor within the 2nd degree of consanguinity" has the meaning set forth in section 556.

[PL 2001, c. 383, §21 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 499, §1 (NEW). PL 1975, c. 740, §50 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 495, §§9,10 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 401, §A5 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 451, §1 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 104, §§1-3 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 460, §§2,3 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 383, §21 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 138, §§2-4 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 464, §§6-8 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November

1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.