## §1981. Payment over of fines and costs collected

Sheriffs, jailers and constables who by virtue of their office receive any fines or forfeitures, shall forthwith pay them to the Treasurer of State. [PL 1977, c. 114, §30 (AMD).]

If any such officer neglects to pay over such fine or forfeiture for 30 days after the receipt thereof; or if he permits any person, sentenced to pay such fine or forfeiture and committed to his custody, to go at large without payment, unless by order of court, and does not within 30 days after the escape pay the amount thereof to the clerk of the court, he forfeits to the State double the amount. The Treasurer of State shall give notice of such neglect to the Attorney General, who shall sue therefor in a civil action in the name of such treasurer. [PL 1977, c. 114, §31 (AMD).]

All such fines imposed by the District Court shall be paid over to the District Court.

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1973, c. 567, §20 (AMD). PL 1975, c. 383, §17 (AMD). PL 1975, c. 408, §32 (AMD). PL 1975, c. 735, §17 (AMD). PL 1977, c. 114, §§30,31 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.