§7155. Libel in Superior Court; notice

The party seizing, within 20 days, shall file a complaint in the clerk's office of the Superior Court in the county where the offense was committed, stating the cause of seizure and praying for an order of forfeiture. The clerk shall thereupon make out a notice to all persons to appear at such court at the time appointed to show cause why such order should not be passed, which notice shall be published in some newspaper printed in the county, if any, if not, in the state paper, at least 14 days before the time of trial. [PL 1967, c. 544, §40 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1967, c. 544, §40 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.