§6704. Writs of possession; judgment conclusive

If the plaintiff recovers judgment in any such case, the court may order one or more writs of possession to issue, as may be necessary, against all such as have been so notified, whether they appeared and defended or not; and such judgment is conclusive on them.

Within 30 days after the judgment is recovered, the clerk of the court from which the judgment issues shall forward to the registry of deeds in the county where the real estate is situated a true copy of the property described in the judgment, together with the names of the parties, the date of judgment and the term of court in which the judgment was rendered, and the register of deeds receiving such copy shall forthwith file the same, minuting thereon the time of the reception thereof, and record in the same manner as a deed of real estate, and the fee of the clerk of the court for preparing the copy shall be \$1 and the register of deeds shall be paid the fee set in Title 33, section 751 for entering and recording the same. Such sums shall be paid by the plaintiff. [PL 1981, c. 279, §8 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1981, c. 279, §8 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.