§4905. Notice of sale

In selling such shares or interest, the officer holding the execution shall give notice in writing of the time and place of sale to the debtor, by leaving it at his last and usual place of abode if within the county where the officer dwells, otherwise by forwarding it to him by mail if his residence is known to such officer, postage paid, whether within or without the State and public notice thereof by posting it in one or more public places in the town where the sale is to be made and in 2 adjoining towns, if there are so many, 30 days at least before the day of sale; and shall publish an advertisement of the same import, naming the judgment debtor, for 3 weeks successively before the day of sale in a newspaper of general circulation in the county. [PL 1987, c. 667, §11 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 667, §11 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.