CHAPTER 13

PARENTS, CHILDREN, SPOUSES

§301. Action for alienation of affections prohibited

A person is not liable to any other person in a civil action for the cause of alienation of affections. [PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. C, §1 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. E, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 694, §C1 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 694, §E2 (AFF).

§302. Action for loss of consortium

A married person may bring a civil action in that person's own name for loss of consortium of that person's spouse. [PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. C, §1 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. E, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 694, §C1 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 694, §E2 (AFF).

§303. Action for loss of services

The parents of a minor child jointly may maintain an action for loss of the services or earnings of that child when that loss is caused by the negligent or wrongful act of another. If one parent refuses to sue, the other may sue alone. This section does not limit, amend, supersede or affect former Title 39, the Workers' Compensation Act or Title 39-A, Part 1, the Maine Workers' Compensation Act of 1992. [PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. C, §1 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. E, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 694, §C1 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 694, §E2 (AFF).

§304. Liability of parents or legal guardians for damage by children

If a minor who is between 7 and 17 years of age willfully or maliciously causes damage to property or injury to a person and the minor would have been liable for the damage or injury if the minor were an adult and the minor lives with that minor's parents or legal guardians, the parents or legal guardians are jointly and severally liable with the minor for that damage or injury in an amount not exceeding \$800. This section does not relieve the minor from personal liability for that damage or injury. [PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. C, §1 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. E, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 694, §C1 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 694, §E2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.