§2812. Assessment collected by forced sale

If any proprietor neglects to pay his assessment to the treasurer, collector or committee for 6 months, if he resides in the State, otherwise for 12 months, then the committee may, from time to time, sell at auction so much of his right in the common lands as is sufficient to pay his tax and the reasonable charges of sale, after notice thereof posted as provided and published in 2 of the newspapers before named, 5 weeks successively next before the time of sale; and may give deeds thereof in fee to the purchaser.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.