§6857. Lobster meat permit

- 1. **Permit required.** A person may not engage in the activities authorized under this section without a current lobster meat permit.
- [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- 2. Permitted activity. A lobster meat permit authorizes a wholesale seafood license holder or a retail seafood license holder to remove lobster meat from the shell for sale under the following conditions.
 - A. The meat may be removed from the shell only at the establishment named in the permit. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
 - B. The meat may come from only legal-sized lobsters. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
 - C. Tail sections must be removed from the shell whole and intact and must be maintained in that state. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- D. All containers in which lobster meat is packed after removal and that are to be sold, shipped or transported must be clearly labeled with the lobster meat permit number of the packer. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).] [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- **3. Exception.** A permit is not required to remove lobster meat for serving in hotels and restaurants if the meat is removed from the shell in a hotel or restaurant for serving on the premises.
- [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- **4. License limitation.** A permit authorizes these activities at only one location or place of business. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- **5. Fee.** The fee for a lobster meat permit is \$159. [PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §42 (AMD).]
- **6. Prima facie evidence meat removed for sale.** If any lobster meat that has been removed from the shell is found on the premises of any establishment that is engaged in the selling, serving, processing or transporting of food in any form for human consumption, it is prima facie evidence that the meat was removed for sale.
- [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- **7. Violation.** A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §60 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW). PL 1981, c. 480, §§13,15,16 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 824, §K3 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 243 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 379, §10 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 528, §RRR (AFF). PL 1991, c. 528, §T19 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 591, §T19 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §B60 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §C1 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 20, §WW26 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §42 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November

1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.