## §6855. Shellfish transportation license

- **1. License required.** A person may not engage in the activities authorized under this section without a current:
  - A. Shellfish transportation license; or [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. F, §29 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
  - B. Supplemental shellfish transportation license. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. F, §29 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. F, §29 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

- 2. License activity. The holder of a shellfish transportation license may buy certified shellfish and transport them beyond the state limits, to the extent these activities are expressly authorized by a shellfish certificate or its equivalent from another state. [PL 1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW).]
- **3. License limitations.** All shellfish transported under this license must be procured from a wholesale seafood licensee certified under section 6856. A license authorizes these activities with only one vehicle owned, leased or rented by the license holder.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §59 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

- **4. Supplemental license.** A supplemental license must be obtained for each additional vehicle. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §59 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- **5. Information required.** Each application must identify each vehicle or other mode of transportation to be used for transporting shellfish.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §59 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

**6. Fees.** The fee for a shellfish transportation license is \$230 and the fee for a supplemental license is \$75.50.

[PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §28 (AMD).]

7. Violation. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §59 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

## **SECTION HISTORY**

PL 1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW). PL 1981, c. 480, §§12,15,16 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 824, §K3 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 243 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 379, §9 (AMD). PL 1987, c. 826, §6 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 528, §RRR (AFF). PL 1991, c. 528, §T18 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 591, §T18 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §B59 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §C1 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 20, §WW25 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §F29 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §41 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §28 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.