## §6808. Commercial green crab only license

1. License required. It is unlawful for a person to engage in the activities authorized by subsection 2 without a current commercial green crab only license. This subsection does not apply to a person who holds a current lobster and crab fishing license issued pursuant to section 6421, subsection 1, paragraph A, B, C or E.

[PL 2019, c. 225, §10 (AMD).]

- 2. Licensed activities. The holder of a commercial green crab only license may fish for or take green crabs or possess, ship, transport or sell green crabs that the license holder has taken. [PL 2001, c. 186, §1 (NEW).]
- **3. Reporting; rules.** [PL 2003, c. 170, §3 (RP).]
  - 4. Exemptions.

[PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §23 (RP).]

- **4-A. Exemptions.** Notwithstanding subsection 1, a license is not required to fish for, take, possess or transport green crabs for personal use if the green crabs are taken by hand or by a method exempted from licensing requirements under section 6501, subsection 3, paragraph A. [PL 2019, c. 225, §11 (NEW).]
- **4-B. Municipal exemption.** Notwithstanding subsection 1, a license is not required to fish for, take, possess or transport green crabs if the green crabs are taken by a person acting at the direction of a municipal shellfish management committee, established pursuant to section 6671, subsection 2, for the purpose of municipal shellfish management. Green crabs taken under this exemption may not be sold.

[PL 2023, c. 563, §7 (NEW).]

- **5. Eligibility.** A commercial green crab only license may be issued only to an individual. [PL 2001, c. 186, §1 (NEW).]
- **6.** License fees. The fee for a commercial green crab only license is \$2 for a resident license and \$4 for a nonresident license, which authorizes the license holder to engage in the licensed activities under subsection 2.

[PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §24 (AMD).]

- **7. Surcharge fees.** In addition to the license fees established in subsection 6, the commissioner shall assess a surcharge on each license issued under this section as follows, which must be deposited in the Green Crab Management Fund established in section 6809:
  - A. Eight dollars for a resident commercial green crab only license; and [PL 2013, c. 492, §11 (AMD).]
  - B. Sixteen dollars for a nonresident commercial green crab only license. [PL 2013, c. 492, §11 (AMD).]

[PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §25 (AMD).]

**8. Prohibition.** The holder of a commercial green crab only license may not have aboard a boat used for crab fishing any lobster or lobster parts.

[PL 2001, c. 186, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2001, c. 186, §1 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 170, §3 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §§33, 34 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 229, §19 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 492, §§9-11 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §§23-25 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 225, §§10, 11 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 563, §7 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.