§6745. Hand-raking mussel license

- 1. License required. A person may not engage in the activities authorized under this section without a current mussel license or other license issued under this Part authorizing the activities. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §44 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- **2.** Licensed activity. The holder of a hand-raking mussel license may take mussels by hand raking or possess or transport mussels within the state limits or sell mussels the holder has taken to a wholesale seafood license holder certified under section 6856 or an enhanced retail certificate holder under section 6852, subsection 2-A.

[PL 2011, c. 598, §34 (AMD).]

2-A. Licensed activities; aquaculture.

[PL 2017, c. 296, §7 (RP); PL 2017, c. 296, §10 (AFF).]

- **3.** Eligibility. A hand-raking mussel license may be issued only to an individual who is a resident. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §44 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- **4. Exception.** In any one day, a person may take or possess not more than 2 bushels of shellstock for personal use without a mussel license.

[PL 2005, c. 434, §9 (AMD).]

- **5. License fee.** The fee for a hand-raking mussel license is \$58.25. [PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §17 (AMD).]
- **6. Violation.** A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §44 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 328, §3 (NEW). PL 1987, c. 826, §3 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 348, §6 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 528, §RRR (AFF). PL 1991, c. 528, §T10 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 591, §T10 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §B44 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §C1 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 20, §WW17 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 434, §9 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 522, §4 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §21 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 217, §4 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 598, §34 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §17 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 296, §7 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 296, §10 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.