## §6505-C. Eel harvesting license

1. License required. A person may not fish for or take eels in the coastal waters of the State or possess, ship, transport or sell eels that the person has taken in the coastal waters of the State without an eel harvesting license.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §31 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

**2. Exemptions.** A person may fish for or take for personal use eels in the coastal waters of the State by speargun, harpoon, trap or hook and line and may possess or transport eels that person has taken pursuant to this subsection. The department shall adopt rules establishing a limit on the number of eels that a person may fish for, take, possess or transport pursuant to this subsection. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter II-A.

[PL 2001, c. 187, §1 (AMD).]

- **3. Eligibility.** An eel harvesting license may be issued only to an individual. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §31 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- **4. License fees.** The fee for an eel harvesting license is \$50. [PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §12 (AMD).]
- **4-A.** License surcharge. In addition to the license fee established in subsection 4, the commissioner shall assess a \$75 surcharge on each license issued under this section. The surcharge fees collected under this subsection must be deposited in the Eel and Elver Management Fund established under section 6505-D.

[PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §13 (NEW).]

**5. Disposition of fees.** All fees collected under this section accrue to the Eel and Elver Management Fund established in section 6505-D, except that \$50 must accrue to the General Fund for each license sold under this section.

[PL 2009, c. 561, §19 (AMD).]

**6. Violation.** A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §31 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 536, §A8 (NEW). PL 2001, c. 187, §1 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §B31 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §C1 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 20, §WW8 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §10 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 561, §19 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §§12, 13 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.