Maine Revised Statutes

Title 12: CONSERVATION
Chapter 605: GENERAL DEPARTMENT ACTIVITIES

86140. ATLANTIC SALMON LICENSE

1. Licenserequired. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person may not fish for Atlantic
salmon from any state waters without a current Atlantic salmon license.

[ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ §7 (NEW .]

2. Licensed activity. The holder of an Atlantic salmon license may fish for Atlantic salmon in inland
and coastal waters of the State.

[ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ §7 (NEW .]

3. License fees. Thefollowing provisions govern license fees.
A. Thefeefor an Atlantic salmon license is $15 for aresident. [ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ §7
(NEW . ]
B. Thefeefor an Atlantic salmon license for any nonresident is as follows:
(1) For aseason license for a nonresident 16 years of age or older, $30;

(2) For a 3-day license for anonresident 16 years of age or older, $15. This license may not be
exchanged for a season license; and

(3) For alicense for anonresident under 16 years of age, $5. [ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ 87
(NEW . ]

C. Members of Indian tribesin this State and residents of this State under 16 years of age are exempt
fromany fee. [ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ 87 (NEW.]

[ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ §7 (NEW .]

4. Atlantic salmon; possession, buying or selling. A person may not possess, buy or sell Atlantic
salmon unless each fish is clearly identified by one of the following methods:

A. Tagged with a New Brunswick, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island or Newfoundland-
Labrador Atlantic salmon tag if imported from those Canadian provinces; [ 2007, c¢. 240, Pt.

QQ 87 (NEW.]
B. Identified by a sales receipt lessthan 24 hoursold; [ 2007, c. 615, 87 (AMD).]
C. For wholesale and retail seafood dealers, identified by abill of sale indicating numbers of fish

purchased, dates of purchase and point of origin of al fish purchased ; or [ 2007, c. 615, §7
(AMVD) . ]

D. Tagged with atag that conforms to rules adopted by the commissioner and identifies the fish as
having been legally obtained from a private fee pond licensed pursuant to section 12508. Fish obtained in
this manner may not beresold. [ 2007, c. 615, 87 (NEW.]

[ 2007, c. 615, §7 (AVD) .]
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5. Exceptions. This section does not apply to a person holding alease that allows that person to engage
in the aguaculture of Atlantic salmon in this State while conducting authorized activities on that person's lease
site.

[ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ §7 (NEW .]

6. Agent'sfee. Any clerk or agent appointed by the department to issue an Atlantic salmon license shall
retain $2 for each license issued.

[ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ §7 (NEW .]

7. Use of licensefees. All license fees must be used by the commissioner for purposes of conservation
and management of the Atlantic salmon in this State.

[ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ 87 (NEW .]

8. Duplicates. The department or its agents shall issue a duplicate license to any person whose license
was accidentally lost or destroyed. The fee for areplacement licenseis $1.

[ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ §7 (NEW .]

9. Fishing in inland waters. When fishing in inland waters, the holder of alicense authorized under this
section is subject to al the provisions of Part 13.

[ 2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ §7 (NEW .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
2007, c. 240, Pt. QQ §7 (NEW. 2007, c. 615, §7 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright inits codified statutes. If you intend to republish this materia, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrightsand other rightsto statutory text arereserved by the Sate of Maine. Thetext includedin this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legidatureand is current through October 1, 2016. Thetextissubject to
changewithout natice. It isa version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Satutes
Annotated and supplementsfor certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our god
isnot to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform ressarch for or providelegd advice or interpretation of Mainelaw to the public.
If you need legal assistance, please contact aqudified attorney.

| 2 Generated
10.13.2016




