§13156. ATV registration agents

1. Appointment of ATV registration agents. The commissioner may appoint municipal clerks or other persons whom a municipality may designate as municipal agents to issue ATV registrations. The commissioner may designate other agents as necessary to issue ATV registrations. The commissioner shall determine by rule the period when the agents must act. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §412 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422

(AFF).]
2. Failure to remit funds. An agent is delinquent if that agent fails to forward to the commissioner funds collected by that agent by the date established in rules adopted under subsection 1. Failure to remit the funds as provided in this subsection results in the following sanctions, in addition to any other

A. [PL 2011, c. 533, §12 (RP).]

B. [PL 2015, c. 301, §47 (RP).]

C. If an agent is delinquent for more than 150 days or is delinquent 3 or more times in one year, the commissioner shall:

(1) Terminate the agency for the balance of the year; and

(2) Order that the agency not be renewed for the next year. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

[PL 2015, c. 301, §47 (AMD).]

3. Service fees. An agent may charge a service fee of not more than \$5 for each ATV registration or renewal registration covered by sections 13002 to 13005. This service fee is retained by the agent. [PL 2023, c. 213, §2 (AMD).]

Rules adopted pursuant to this section are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §412 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

provided by law.

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B412 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2011, c. 533, §12 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 301, §47 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 213, §2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.