## §13105. Snowmobile registration agents

- 1. Appointment of snowmobile registration agents; report; fees. Appointment of snowmobile registration agents and applicable fees are governed by the following.
  - A. The commissioner may appoint municipal clerks or other persons who a municipality may designate as municipal agents to issue snowmobile registrations. The commissioner may designate other agents as necessary to issue snowmobile registrations. The commissioner shall determine by rule the period when agents shall act. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §392 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
  - B. Agents may charge a service fee of not more than \$5 for each snowmobile registration or renewal registration covered by sections 13002 to 13005. This service fee is retained by the agent. [PL 2023, c. 213, §1 (AMD).]
  - C. An agent is delinquent if that agent fails to forward to the commissioner funds collected by that agent by the date established in rules adopted under this subsection. Failure to remit the funds as provided in this subsection results in the following sanctions, in addition to any other provided by law.
    - (3) If an agent is delinquent for more than 150 days or is delinquent 3 or more times in one year, the commissioner shall:
      - (a) Terminate the agency for the balance of the year; and
      - (b) Order that the agency not be renewed for the next year. [PL 2015, c. 301, §46 (AMD).]

Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

[PL 2023, c. 213, §1 (AMD).]

- **2.** Unlawful issuance of snowmobile registration. An agent may not issue a resident snowmobile registration to a nonresident or a nonresident snowmobile registration to a resident.
  - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §392 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
  - B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §392 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §392 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B392 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2011, c. 533, §10 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 301, §46 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 213, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November

1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.