Maine Revised Statutes

Title 12: CONSERVATION
Chapter 931: TAXIDERMISTS AND HIDE DEALERS

8§12952. TAXIDERMY; GENERAL PROVISIONS

1. Definitions. Asused in this chapter, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have
the following meanings.

A. "Board" means the Advisory Board for the Licensing of Taxidermists established by Title 5, section
12004-1, subsection 23-A. [ 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, 82 (NEW; 2003, c. 614, §9
(AFF) . ]

[ 2003, c. 414, Pt. A §2 (NEW; 2003, c. 614, 89 (AFF) .]

2. Permitted activities. The holder of ataxidermist license may:

A. Possess, at the licensee's place of business, lawfully acquired fish or wildlife specimens for the
sole purpose of preparing and mounting them, including skull mounts; [ 2013, c¢. 408, 8§22
(AMVD) . ]

B. Transport lawfully acquired fish and wildlife specimens to and from the licensee's place of business;
[2003, c. 414, Pt. A 82 (NEW; 2003, c. 614, 89 (AFF).]

C. Sell lawfully acquired specimens of fish and wildlife that have been preserved through the art

of taxidermy if that sale does not violate regulations of the federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act or
other federal regulations; [ 2003, c. 414, Pt. A 82 (NEW,; 2003, c. 614, 89
(AFF) . ]

D. Designate othersto aid or assist in conducting business at the licensee's place of business; and
[2003, c. 414, Pt. A 82 (NEW; 2003, c. 614, 89 (AFF).]

E. Buy, sell or barter raw, untanned hides or heads of wild animals. [ 2003, c¢. 414, Pt. A, 82
(NEW; 2003, c. 614, 89 (AFF).]
[ 2013, c. 408, 822 (AMD) .]

2-A. Record-keeping requirements. The following provisions apply to keeping and filing records.
A. The holder of ataxidermist license shall:

(1) Keep atrue and complete record, in such form as required by the commissioner, of all activities
conducted by virtue of the taxidermist license;

(2) File a copy of the record with the commissioner no later than 10 days after the end of the year
during which the licenseisvalid; and

(3) Retain arecord of taxidermy work completed for a period of 4 years after the date of completion
of thework. [ 2015, c. 301, 841 (AMD).]

B. Thefollowing penalties apply to violations of this subsection.

(1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which afine of not less than
$100 nor more than $500 may be adjudged.

(2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or
more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime.
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Each day a person violates this subsection is a separate offense. [ 2003, c¢. 655, Pt. B, 8343
(NEW; 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, 8422 (AFF).]

[ 2015, c. 301, §41 (AMD) .]

3. Recordsinspection. Records retained under subsection 2-A must be open for inspection by any agent
of the commissioner during normal business hours for the period the person holds a taxidermist license and 30
days after the effective date of arevocation or the expiration of that license.

[ 2015, c. 301, §42 (AMVD) .]

4. Competency standards. The commissioner shall establish standards of competency for the practice
of taxidermy and shall provide a copy of these standards to each applicant for ataxidermy license.

[ 2003, c. 414, Pt. A §2 (NEW; 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF) .]

5. Rules. The commissioner may, pursuant to the Maine Administrative Procedure Act, adopt rulesto
implement the provisions of this section. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules
as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

[ 2003, c. 614, 89 (AFF): 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §345 (AVD); 2003, c.
655, Pt. B, 8422 (AFF) .]
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