## §12909. Whitewater guide license

- 1. Eligibility. A person may not act as a whitewater guide unless that person is 18 years of age or older and has procured a license from the commissioner pursuant to this section.
- A. A person who violates this subsection commits a Class E crime for which a minimum fine of \$50 and an amount equal to twice the applicable license fee must be imposed. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §329 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §329 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- 2. Rules. The commissioner shall by rule establish the requirements for a whitewater guide's license.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

- **3. Examination.** All initial applicants for a whitewater guide's license are required to pass an examination developed and administered by the commissioner. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, C. 414, Pl. A, §2 (NEW), PL 2003, C. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **4. Fee.** The fee for an examination is \$100 and is not refundable. An applicant may retake the examination once without paying an additional examination fee. A whitewater guide's license is a 3-year license. The fee for a whitewater guide's license is \$89. [PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §32 (AMD).]
- **5. Renewal.** A whitewater guide whose license is not suspended or revoked may renew that license upon the payment of the license fee. An examination is required for any person who has not held a valid whitewater guide's license within the previous 3 years.
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **6. Nonrenewal, suspension or revocation.** A whitewater guide's license is subject to nonrenewal, suspension or revocation for good cause shown, including, but not limited to, unsafe practices, falsification of reports or serious or continued violation of this chapter, subject to Title 5, chapter 375. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §330 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §§B329,330 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 12, §III32 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.