## §12855. Examination

**1. Requirement.** In order to qualify for a guide license, a person who has not held a valid guide license within the previous 3 years must pass an examination pursuant to this section.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

**2. Form.** The commissioner shall determine the form and content of the examination.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

**3. Location.** The commissioner shall designate locations where the examination will be held, except the examination must be held in one of the Inland Fisheries and Wildlife regions if at least 10 applicants reside in that region.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

**4. Reexamination.** The commissioner may require a guide to be examined or reexamined if the commissioner receives a written complaint and, upon investigation, believes that the guide no longer meets the guide qualifications.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

- **5. Fee.** The examination fee is \$125. The fee is nonrefundable. [PL 2023, c. 308, §9 (AMD).]
- **6. Oral examination.** If an oral examination is administered, the examination must be conducted by at least 2 trained examiners designated pursuant to section 10153, subsection 5 who are approved by the commissioner or members of the Advisory Board for the Licensing of Guides.

[PL 2023, c. 308, §10 (AMD).]

## **SECTION HISTORY**

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2023, c. 308, §§9, 10 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.