§11751-A. Unlawful possession of wild turkeys

1. Possession of wild turkeys. A person may not possess a wild turkey taken in violation of any rule adopted by the commissioner under section 11701. [PL 2003, c. 552, §11 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 552, §15 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. C, §§2, 6

[PL 2003, c. 552, §11 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 552, §15 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. C, §§2, 6 (AFF).]

2. Exceeding bag limit. A person may not possess more than the number of wild turkey allowed by rule during any open season, except a person may keep legally obtained wild turkey in that person's home at any time or as otherwise provided in law or rule.

[PL 2017, c. 85, §4 (AMD).]

3. Hunting wild turkey after having killed maximum. A person may not hunt wild turkey after that person has killed or registered the maximum number of wild turkey allowed by rule during that season.

[PL 2017, c. 85, §4 (AMD).]

4. Penalties. The following penalties apply to violations of this section.

A. A person who violates subsection 1 commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 552, §11 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 552, §15 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. C, §§2, 6 (AFF).]

B. A person who violates subsection 2 or 3 commits a Class E crime for which the court shall impose a fine of not less than \$500, none of which may be suspended. The court also shall impose a fine of \$500 for each wild turkey unlawfully possessed, none of which may be suspended. [PL 2003, c. 552, §11 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 552, §15 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. C, §§2, 6 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 552, §11 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 552, §15 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. C, §§2, 6 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 552, §11 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 552, §15 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §§C2,6 (AFF). PL 2017, c. 85, §4 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.