## §11652. Bag limits

**1. One moose per permit holder.** A person may not exceed the bag limit of one moose per permit holder. In the case of a permittee and a subpermittee, the permit allows one of them to take one moose. Except as provided in sections 12401 and 12402, a person may not shoot more than one moose in a calendar year. A person may keep more than one legally obtained moose in that person's home at any time.

[PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §178 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

**2.** Possession. A person may not possess a moose in violation of this section. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §178 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

**3. Penalty.** A person who violates this section commits a Class D crime for which the court shall impose a sentencing alternative of not less than 3 days for the first offense, none of which may be suspended, and of not less than 10 days for each succeeding offense, none of which may be suspended; the court also shall impose a fine of not less than \$1,000, none of which may be suspended. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §178 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B178 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.