§11160. Coyote night hunting permit

1. Permit required. Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to this Part, a person may not hunt coyote at night unless that person has a valid permit issued under this section. Each night a person violates this subsection that person commits a Class E crime for which a minimum fine of \$50 and an amount equal to twice the applicable license fee must be imposed.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

2. Eligibility; hunting license required. A person who possesses a valid hunting license is eligible to obtain a permit from the commissioner to hunt coyotes at night, except that a permit may not be issued to a person who has been convicted of a violation of section 11206 within 5 years of the date of application for the permit.

[RR 2011, c. 1, §17 (COR).]

3. Issuance. The commissioner shall issue a permit to hunt coyotes at night to eligible persons at a fee of \$4.

[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §18 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B135 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 12, §III18 (AMD). RR 2011, c. 1, §17 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.