§11156. Pheasant hunting permit

(CONTAINS TEXT WITH VARYING EFFECTIVE DATES)

- 1. Permit required. Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to this Part, a person may not hunt pheasant in Cumberland County or York County unless that person has a valid permit issued under this section. Each day a person violates this subsection that person commits a Class E crime for which a minimum fine of \$50 and an amount equal to twice the applicable license fee must be imposed. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **2. Rules.** The commissioner may adopt rules necessary for the proper administration, enforcement and interpretation of this section. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §131 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **3. Issuance.** The commissioner or the commissioner's authorized agent may issue a pheasant hunting permit to an applicant 16 years of age or older permitting the applicant to hunt or possess pheasants in Cumberland County and York County. A person under 16 years of age may hunt or possess pheasants in accordance with this Part, except that a person under 16 years of age is not required to purchase or carry a pheasant hunting permit in order to hunt or possess pheasants.

Beginning January 1, 2016, for those persons who obtain a junior hunting license and turn 16 years of age during the same calendar year, the pheasant hunting permit is included even after the person has turned 16 years of age as long as that person is hunting on that person's valid junior hunting license and not longer than the remainder of the calendar year for which the license is issued. [PL 2015, c. 281, Pt. D, §3 (AMD).]

- **4. (TEXT EFFECTIVE UNTIL 1/01/24) Fee.** The fee for a pheasant hunting permit is \$18, \$1 of which is retained by the commissioner's authorized agent. [PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §15 (AMD).]
- **4.** (TEXT EFFECTIVE 1/01/24) Fee. The fee for a pheasant hunting permit is \$29, \$2 of which is retained by the commissioner's authorized agent.

[PL 2023, c. 308, §8 (AMD); PL 2023, c. 308, §14 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B131 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 12, §III15 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 281, Pt. D, §3 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 308, §8 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 308, §14 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.