§11155. Wild turkey hunting permits

1. Permit required. Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to this Part, a person may not hunt or possess wild turkey unless that person has a valid permit issued under this section.

A person who violates this subsection commits a Class E crime for which the court shall impose a fine of not less than \$500, none of which may be suspended. The court also shall impose a fine of \$500 for each wild turkey unlawfully possessed, none of which may be suspended.

[PL 2003, c. 552, §2 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 552, §15 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. C, §§2, 6 (AFF).]

1-A. Eligibility; hunting or archery license required. A person who possesses a valid hunting or archery hunting license to hunt may obtain a permit to hunt for wild turkey from the commissioner or an authorized agent.

[PL 2015, c. 127, §6 (AFF); PL 2015, c. 281, Pt. E, §10 (AMD).]

1-B. Issuance; permit fee.

[PL 2013, c. 387, §1 (AMD); MRSA T. 12 §11155, sub-§1-B (RP).]

1-C. Issuance; permit fee. Beginning January 1, 2014, the commissioner, through the commissioner's authorized agent, shall issue in wildlife management districts that are open by rule for wild turkey hunting a wild turkey hunting permit that allows an eligible person to take wild turkeys in accordance with section 11701. The fee for a wild turkey hunting permit is \$20 for residents and nonresidents.

[PL 2017, c. 85, §2 (AMD).]

2. Issuance of wild turkey hunting permits.

[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §12 (RP).]

3. Eligibility.

[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §12 (RP).]

4. Application procedure and fee.

[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §13 (RP).]

5. Wild turkey hunting permit fee.

[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §14 (RP).]

6. Transfer of turkey permits.

[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §14 (RP).]

7. Landowner; wild turkey permit.

[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §14 (RP).]

8. Big game license required.

[PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §14 (RP).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 552, §2 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 552, §15 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B130 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §\$B422,C2,6 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 12, §\$III11-14 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. OO, §8 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 387, §§1, 2 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 127, §3 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 127, §6 (AFF). PL 2015, c. 281, Pt. E, §10 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 85, §2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November

1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.