## §11151. Bear hunting permit

1. **Permit required.** Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to this Part, a person may not hunt for bear without a valid permit during the open season on hunting bear established pursuant to section 11251. A person may hunt for bear without a valid permit during the open firearm season on deer under section 11401. This section does not apply to trapping for bear.

Each day a person violates this subsection that person commits a Class E crime for which a minimum fine of \$50 and an amount equal to twice the applicable license fee must be imposed. [PL 2021, c. 100, §2 (AMD); PL 2021, c. 100, §13 (AFF).]

**2.** Eligibility; hunting or archery license required. A person who possesses a valid hunting or archery hunting license may obtain a permit to hunt for bear from the commissioner or an authorized agent

[PL 2015, c. 281, Pt. E, §7 (AMD).]

**3. Issuance; permit fee.** The commissioner, through the commissioner's authorized agent, shall issue a bear hunting permit or permits to an eligible person. When the bag limit on bear is more than one, a bear hunting permit is required for each bear. The annual fee for each permit issued is \$10 for residents and \$74 for nonresidents.

[PL 2021, c. 100, §3 (AMD); PL 2021, c. 100, §13 (AFF).]

## **SECTION HISTORY**

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B118 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 12, §III7 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. OO, §6 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 281, Pt. E, §7 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 100, §§2, 3 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 100, §13 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.