CHAPTER 935

WATERCRAFT AND AIRMOBILES

§13051. Commissioner's authority to regulate watercraft

It is the Legislature's intent that any rule adopted under this section be in accord with federal regulations that are promulgated under the Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971, Public Law 92-75, as amended. The commissioner, acting jointly with the Commissioner of Marine Resources, may adopt and amend rules under the procedure provided in the Maine Administrative Procedure Act that are not inconsistent with this chapter: [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

- 1. Administrative procedure. To further establish administrative procedure under this chapter; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- 2. Appointment of watercraft registration agents; fees. Authorizing the commissioner to delegate the authority to issue watercraft registrations, subject to this subsection.
 - A. The commissioner may appoint municipal clerks or other persons who a municipality may designate as municipal agents to issue watercraft registrations. The commissioner may appoint other agents as necessary to issue watercraft registrations. The commissioner shall determine the period when the agents are authorized to act. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - B. Agents may charge a service fee of \$1 for each renewal registration issued and \$2 for each registration covered by sections 13002 to 13005. This service fee is retained by the agent. The commissioner shall charge a \$1 service fee for each registration issued by department employees. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - C. An agent is delinquent if that agent fails to forward to the commissioner funds collected by that agent by the date established in rules adopted under this subsection. Failure to remit the funds as provided in this subsection results in the following sanctions, in addition to any other provided by law.
 - (3) If an agent is delinquent for more than 150 days or is delinquent 3 or more times in one year, the commissioner shall:
 - (a) Terminate the agency for the balance of the year; and
 - (b) Order that the agency not be renewed for the next year; [PL 2015, c. 301, §43 (AMD).]

[PL 2015, c. 301, §43 (AMD).]

- **3. Safe use and operation of watercraft.** Governing the use and operation of watercraft upon the waters of the State to insure safety of persons and property; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- 4. Safety equipment. Further governing safety equipment for watercraft, including the type, quality and quantity of that equipment; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **5. Horsepower.** Governing the horsepower of motors used to propel watercraft on all internal waters of this State. In adopting these rules, the commissioner shall take into consideration the area of the internal waters, the use to which the internal waters are put, the depth of the water and the amount of water-borne traffic upon the waters and determine whether or not the rule is necessary to ensure the safety of persons and property. The adoption of rules under this subsection is governed by the Maine

Administrative Procedure Act, except that such rules may be only adopted as a result of a petition from the municipal officers of the municipality or municipalities in which the waters exist or from 25 citizens of the municipalities in which the waters exist, by county commissioners of the county in which the waters exist if they are located in unorganized territory or 25 citizens of the unorganized territory in which the waters exist, requesting the issuance of such a rule for a particular body of internal water and stating the proposed horsepower limitation;

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

6. Restrictions for airmobiles.

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §356 (RP); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

7. Areas off limits to watercraft. To define areas off limits to all watercraft during time periods critical for wildlife protection.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

Rules adopted pursuant to this section must be written in a clear and easy-to-understand format for educational purposes. A summary of rules adopted under subsections 3, 4, 5 and 7 must be distributed with each watercraft registration form together with information on how to prevent water contamination and minimize wildlife disturbance. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §357 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §§B356,357 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2011, c. 533, §7 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 301, §43 (AMD).

§13052. Commissioner's powers and duties regarding watercraft

1. Register watercraft. The commissioner shall annually register watercraft and issue certificates, licenses and permits as provided in this chapter.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

2. Promote safety; education courses. The commissioner shall promote safety for persons and property in connection with the use and operation of watercraft. The commissioner, in accordance with section 13051, shall implement the boater safety and education course or equivalency exam requirements of this chapter.

[PL 2023, c. 206, §3 (AMD).]

- **3. Federal grants.** The commissioner may participate in such federal grants in aid as may be forthcoming to the State from the federal Boat Safety Act of 1971, Public Law 92-75, as amended. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- 4. Coast Guard report. The commissioner shall make an annual report to the Coast Guard as required under federal law of the certificates of number issued by the commissioner. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **5. Registration list distribution.** The commissioner shall distribute a list of registrations issued as follows.
 - A. When the legal residence of an applicant is a municipality within the State, the commissioner shall mail annually a list of registrations to the tax collector of that municipality. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - B. When the legal residence of the applicant is outside of the State and the boat is situated within a municipality in the State, the commissioner shall mail annually a list of registrations to the tax collector of that municipality. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

C. In all other cases, the commissioner shall send a list of registrations annually to the Department of Administrative and Financial Services, Bureau of Revenue Services. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

6. Information to federal officials or agencies. The commissioner shall transmit any information compiled or otherwise available to the commissioner pursuant to sections 13069-A, 13069-B and 13069-C to an authorized official or agency of the United States, in accordance with any request duly made by that official or agency.

[PL 2005, c. 436, §2 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 436, §2 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 656, §3 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 206, §3 (AMD).

§13053. Commissioner's authority to regulate airmobiles

1. Rules. The commissioner shall adopt rules restricting the operation of airmobiles in areas where their use may be harmful. These rules must be adopted in accordance with Title 5, chapter 375 after public hearings in the areas affected. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §358 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

2. Minimum conditions. Rules adopted pursuant to subsection 1 must, at a minimum, establish conditions for the use of airmobiles in fish and wildlife preserves, conservation areas, coastal and inland wetlands and great ponds.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

3. Prohibitions. The commissioner shall prohibit airmobile use wherever it adversely affects fish and wildlife habitat, interferes with the operation of other watercraft, threatens public safety or adversely affects the natural environment.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B358 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13054. Rule violations; watercraft

The following penalties apply to violations of rules regarding watercraft. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §359 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- 1. Civil. Notwithstanding section 10650, a person who violates a rule regarding watercraft commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §359 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **2. Criminal.** A person who violates a rule regarding watercraft after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime.

[PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §359 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B359 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13055. Violation of license, permit or certificate restriction

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B360 (RP). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13056. Certificate of number, identification numbers and validation stickers

1. Prohibition.

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §361 (RP); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- **1-A. Operating without certificate of number.** Except as provided in paragraph A, a person may not operate or give permission to operate a motorboat requiring a certificate of number without a current certificate of number or a current temporary certificate of number. Only the certificate of number or temporary certificate of number as issued by the commissioner is valid. Except as provided in subsection 12, paragraph A, a facsimile or copy of the certificate is not valid.
 - A. The certificate of number for a watercraft less than 26 feet in length and leased or rented to another for the latter's noncommercial use may be retained on shore by the owner of the watercraft or the owner's representative at the place where the watercraft departs or returns to the possession of the owner or the owner's representative, as long as the person leasing or renting the watercraft has a copy of the lease or rental agreement that shows the watercraft number thereon and the period of time for which the watercraft is leased or rented and that is signed by the owner or the owner's representative. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §361 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$200 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
 - (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. OO, §13 (AMD).]

[PL 2021, c. 130, §1 (AMD).]

- **1-B. Operating without identification number and validation stickers.** A person may not operate or give permission to operate a motorboat without the identification number and validation stickers, assigned by the commissioner and authorized by this chapter, displayed on each side of the bow in accordance with subsection 12, paragraphs A and B or section 13059, subsection 4.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §361 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §361 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §361 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- 2. Motorboats requiring. Except as provided in this subsection, the owner of a motorboat, including an airmobile, used on the waters of the State as the state of principal use shall obtain a certificate of number for the motorboat from the commissioner. No certificate of number may be issued unless the owner submits proof that the watercraft excise tax, assessed under Title 36, chapter 112, has been paid or that the boat is exempt from the watercraft excise tax. The following motorboats are exempt from this subsection:

- A. A watercraft that has or is required to have a valid marine document as a watercraft of the United States; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- B. A motorboat already covered by a current certificate of number issued under a federally approved numbering system of another state or a federal law, as long as the number so issued is displayed on the motorboat and as long as the motorboat has not been within this State for a period in excess of 60 consecutive days after the state of principal use has been changed; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- C. Military or public watercraft, except recreational type watercraft of the United States; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- D. A motorboat whose owner is the United States, a state or subdivision thereof that is used for governmental purposes and is clearly identifiable as such; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- E. A ship's lifeboat; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- F. A motorboat from a country other than the United States, as long as the motorboat has not been within this State for a period in excess of 60 consecutive days; [PL 2013, c. 408, §23 (AMD).]
- G. A motorboat used exclusively for racing purposes that displays on its hull in a prominent manner a valid boat number issued by a recognized racing association; and [PL 2013, c. 408, §24 (AMD).]
- H. A motorboat participating in an event as permitted by section 13061. [PL 2013, c. 408, §25 (NEW).]
- [PL 2013, c. 408, §§23-25 (AMD).]
- **3. Other watercraft may be numbered.** Nothing in this section prohibits the numbering of any watercraft upon the request of the owner. The owner shall comply with all applicable requirements of this chapter if the owner chooses to number a watercraft.
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **4. Application.** The owner of a motorboat requiring or of a watercraft for which the owner wishes to request a certificate of number shall make application to the commissioner on forms approved by the commissioner. The application must show the legal residence of the applicant and the place where the watercraft is situated.
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **5. Issuance.** Upon receipt of the approved application with the proper fee, the commissioner shall enter the application upon the office records and issue the applicant a pocket-sized certificate of number stating:
 - A. The number assigned to the motorboat; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - B. Its description; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - C. The name and address of the owner; and [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - D. Such other information as the commissioner deems appropriate. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

The holder of any certificate of number issued under this chapter may obtain a duplicate validation sticker from the commissioner upon application and payment of the fee set forth in subsection 8. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

6. Certificate of number; term. A certificate of number is issued to the owner of a watercraft or a dealer for a specific calendar year and is valid through December 31st of the year for which it was issued.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

- 7. Numbers permanent. A number once awarded under this chapter to a motorboat remains with that boat until the boat is destroyed, abandoned, permanently removed or no longer principally used in this State, except that numbers that have been inactive for at least 7 years may be reissued by the division.
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **8.** Fees. The fees for each original or renewal certificate of number with 2 validation stickers are set out in this subsection.
 - A. For a watercraft requiring or whose owner requests a certificate of number and that is equipped with a motor having a manufacturer's horsepower rating of:
 - (1) Ten horsepower or less, prior to January 1, 2020 the fee is \$25 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$15 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2020, the fee under this subparagraph is \$30 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$15 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2025, the fee under this subparagraph is \$40 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$15 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2028, the fee under this subparagraph is \$50 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$15 for operating only on tidal waters of the State:
 - (2) Greater than 10 horsepower but not more than 50 horsepower, prior to January 1, 2020 the fee is \$30 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$20 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2020, the fee under this subparagraph is \$35 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$20 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2025, the fee under this subparagraph is \$45 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$20 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2028, the fee under this subparagraph is \$55 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$20 for operating only on tidal waters of the State; and
 - (3) Greater than 50 horsepower but not more than 115 horsepower, prior to January 1, 2020 the fee is \$36 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$26 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2020, the fee under this subparagraph is \$41 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$26 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2025, the fee under this subparagraph is \$51 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$26 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2028, the fee under this subparagraph is \$61 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$26 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. [PL 2023, c. 612, §2 (AMD).]
 - B. Prior to January 1, 2020, for a personal watercraft requiring or whose owner requests a certificate of number and watercraft equipped with a motor having a manufacturer's horsepower rating greater than 115 horsepower, the fee is \$44 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$34 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2020, the fee under this paragraph is \$49 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$34 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2025, the fee under this paragraph is \$59 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$34 for operating only on tidal waters of the State. Beginning January 1, 2028, the fee under this paragraph is \$69 for operating on inland waters of the State and \$34 for operating only on tidal waters of the State and \$34 for operating only on tidal waters of the State and
 - C. For a duplicate certificate of number, the fee is \$1. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

- D. For a duplicate validation sticker (per set), the fee is \$1. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- E. For a certificate of number issued with transfer of ownership authorized in subsection 10, the fee is \$2. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- F. [PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §38 (RP).]

Validation stickers are nontransferable.

A motorboat that is used for governmental purposes and is owned and operated in the State by the Federal Government, the State or a political subdivision of the State is exempt from registration fees. [PL 2023, c. 612, §§2, 3 (AMD).]

- **9. Renewal.** The owner may renew the owner's certificate of number at expiration by stating the old number in the owner's application and paying the fee prescribed in subsection 8. The fee is the same fee the owner would pay for the original issuance.
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- 10. Transfer of ownership. Whoever transfers ownership of a motorboat for which a certificate of number has already been issued under this chapter and applies for a certificate of number for another motorboat is entitled to a new certificate of number upon payment of a transfer fee of \$4 as set forth in subsection 8, paragraph E, provided the applicant returns to the commissioner the old certificate of number properly signed and executed, showing that ownership of the motorboat has been transferred. [PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §38 (AMD).]
- 11. New ownership. If there is a change of ownership of a motorboat for which a certificate of number has previously been issued under this chapter, the new owner shall apply for a new certificate of number and set forth the original boat number in the application. The new owner shall pay the regular fee for the particular motorboat involved and is not entitled to the special transfer fee set forth in subsection 10.
- A. [PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §39 (RP).] [PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §39 (AMD).]
- **12. Requirements.** The following provisions establish requirements for certificates of number, identification numbers and validation stickers.
 - A. The operator shall have the certificate of number available for inspection on the motorboat for which it was issued whenever the motorboat is in operation. The operator may have the certificate of number available for inspection in electronic form on the motorboat for which it was issued. [PL 2021, c. 130, §2 (AMD).]
 - B. A person may not operate or give permission to operate a motorboat unless the identification number and validation stickers assigned by the commissioner and authorized by this chapter are displayed on each side of the bow of the boat in the following manner:
 - (1) The identification numbers must be painted or permanently attached to the bow and be of a color that is in contrast to the color of the background so as to provide the highest degree of visibility, i.e., dark numbers on a light background or vice versa, and be plainly visible;
 - (2) The identification number must be displayed in 3 parts. The prefix, which is the initial letters ME, designating the State of Maine, must be separated by a hyphen or space equal to the width of a letter, other than the letter "I," from the numerals that follow it. The suffix, which consists of the ending letter or letters which appear after the numerals, must be likewise separated from the numerals;

- (3) The identification number must be displayed to read from left to right, of good proportion, with vertical block character capital letters and Arabic numerals, all of which must be not less than 3 inches in height and maintained in a legible condition at all times;
- (4) No number other than the assigned boat number may be displayed on the bow of such a motorboat; and
- (5) The validation sticker, as issued by the division, must be displayed approximately 3 inches behind the last letter of the identification number and on a level with the number on both sides of the bow viz.: ME-123-A. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §361 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- C. The owner of a certificate of number terminated or invalidated under subsection 13 shall return it within 10 days of the termination or invalidation. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- D. The owner of a watercraft that has been issued a certificate of number shall notify the commissioner in writing within 10 days of:
 - (1) The transfer of all or any part of the owner's interest, other than the creation of a security interest, in the watercraft covered by the certificate;
 - (2) The permanent removal of the watercraft from the State;
 - (3) The destruction or abandonment of the watercraft;
 - (4) The theft or recovery of the watercraft; or
 - (5) Any change in the owner's address. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- E. Upon sale or transfer of ownership of a registered watercraft, the owner or dealer shall remove and destroy any validation stickers on the craft. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- F. The person whose name appears on the certificate of number as the owner of a watercraft shall remove the number and validation stickers from the craft when:
 - (1) The watercraft is documented;
 - (2) The watercraft is no longer used principally in the State;
 - (3) The application for a certificate of number contains false or fraudulent statements or information; or
- (4) The fees for issuance of a certificate of number are not paid. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 [PL 2021, c. 130, §2 (AMD).]
- **12-A.** Violation of requirements; penalty. The following penalties apply to violations of subsection 12.
 - A. A person who violates subsection 12 commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §361 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. A person who violates subsection 12 after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §361 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §361 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- **13. Termination of certificate of number.** Under any of the following conditions, the certificate of number issued by the commissioner is terminated or invalidated:
 - A. Transfer of the watercraft; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - B. Documentation of the watercraft; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - C. Change in state of principal use of the watercraft; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - D. Permanent removal of the watercraft from the State; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - E. Abandonment or destruction of the watercraft; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - F. False or fraudulent information on the application for the certificate of number; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - G. Failure to pay the required fee for the certificate of number; or [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - H. Involuntary loss of interest in the watercraft due to legal process. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

The transfer of a partial interest that does not affect the original owner's right to operate the watercraft does not terminate or invalidate the certificate of number.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

14. Dissemination of educational materials required; watercraft dealers. A watercraft dealer who sells a motorboat in the State shall provide the purchaser of that motorboat with information related to the boater safety and education courses offered by the department as well as information related to those operators who are required to complete those courses.

[PL 2023, c. 611, §2 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

RR 2003, c. 1, §9 (COR). RR 2003, c. 1, §10 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B361 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 12, §§III38,39 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 397, §\$A55,56 (AFF). PL 2007, c. 44, §§2, 3 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. OO, §§13-15 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 408, §§23-25 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 264, §§3, 4 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 452, §10 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 130, §§1, 2 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 611, §2 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 612, §§2, 3 (AMD).

§13057. History of ownership

- 1. **Request.** The commissioner or the commissioner's designee shall provide on request a written record of the history of past ownership of any watercraft that requires a certificate of number under this chapter. The request must be made on forms provided by the commissioner.
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **2. Fee.** The fee for providing the record pursuant to subsection 1 is \$25 and must be submitted with the request form.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).

§13058. Lake and river protection sticker required

- **1. Prohibition.** A person exempt from the certificate of number requirement pursuant to section 13056, subsection 2, paragraph B may not place or operate a motorboat, personal watercraft or seaplane on the inland waters of the State unless a valid lake and river protection sticker issued annually under subsection 3 is permanently affixed to:
 - A. Each side of the bow of a motorboat or personal watercraft above the water line and approximately 3 inches behind the validation sticker required under section 13056; and [PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. OO, §16 (NEW).]
 - B. Each outside edge of a seaplane's pontoons so that the entire sticker is visible above the water line when the seaplane is resting on the water. [PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. OO, §16 (NEW).]

This sticker is nontransferable.

[PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. OO, §16 (RPR).]

- **2. Violation.** A person who violates subsection 1 is subject to the provisions of this subsection.
- A. A person who violates subsection 1 commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 and not more than \$250 per violation may be adjudged. A fine imposed under this subsection may not be suspended by the court. [PL 2005, c. 397, Pt. E, §14 (RPR).]
- B. A person who violates subsection 1 after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2005, c. 397, Pt. E, §14 (RPR).]

[PL 2005, c. 397, Pt. E, §14 (RPR).]

2-A. Class E crime. A person who violates subsection 1 after having been adjudicated of having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime.

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 627, §2 (NEW).]

3. Nonresident motorboat and personal watercraft lake and river protection sticker and resident and nonresident seaplane lake and river protection sticker; fee. No later than January 1st of each year, the commissioner shall provide the agents authorized to register watercraft or issue licenses with a sufficient quantity of lake and river protection stickers for motorboats and personal watercraft not registered in the State and for all seaplanes, whether or not registered in the State, for that boating season. The sticker must be in 2 parts so that one part of the sticker can be affixed to each side of the bow of a motorboat or personal watercraft or to each outside edge of a seaplane's pontoons. Prior to January 1, 2020, the fee for a sticker issued under this subsection is \$20, \$1 of which is retained by the agent who sold the sticker. Beginning January 1, 2020, the fee for a sticker issued under this subsection is \$45, \$1 of which is retained by the agent who sold the sticker. Beginning January 1, 2025, the fee for a sticker issued under this subsection is \$60, \$1 of which is retained by the agent who sold the sticker. Beginning January 1, 2028, the fee for a sticker issued under this subsection is \$60, \$1 of which is retained by the agent who sold the sticker. Beginning January 1, 2028, the fee for a sticker issued under this subsection is \$75, \$1 of which is retained by the agent who sold the sticker.

The remainder of the fee is disposed of as follows:

- A. Prior to January 1, 2025, 80% must be credited to the Invasive Aquatic Plant and Nuisance Species Fund. Beginning January 1, 2025, 70% must be credited to the Invasive Aquatic Plant and Nuisance Species Fund; and [PL 2023, c. 612, §4 (AMD).]
- B. Prior to January 1, 2025, 20% must be credited to the Lake and River Protection Fund established within the department under section 10257. Beginning January 1, 2025, 30% must be credited to the Lake and River Protection Fund. [PL 2023, c. 612, §4 (AMD).]

A motorboat, personal watercraft or seaplane owned by the Federal Government, a state government or a municipality is exempt from the fee established in this subsection.

[PL 2023, c. 612, §4 (AMD).]

4. Exemption. A motorboat, personal watercraft or seaplane operating on interstate waters shared with the State of New Hampshire is exempt from subsection 3 if it is displaying a lake and river protection sticker issued by the State of New Hampshire that is equivalent to the lake and river protection sticker issued by the State as long as the State of New Hampshire enacts legislation with substantially the same lake and river protection sticker requirements under this section giving a reciprocal exemption to a motorboat, personal watercraft or seaplane displaying the State's lake and river protection sticker.

[PL 2019, c. 638, §3 (NEW).]

The Legislature shall appropriate to the department in each fiscal year an amount equal to the administrative costs incurred by the department in collecting revenue under this section. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §7 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 627, §§1,2 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §\$B362-364 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 397, §§E13,14 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 477, §25 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 44, §§4, 5 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. OO, §§16, 17 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 580, §3 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 264, §5 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 638, §3 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 612, §4 (AMD).

§13059. Dealer's certificate of number

1. Application. Notwithstanding section 13056, subsection 2, a manufacturer or dealer of new or used motorboats who has a permanent place of business in this State for the manufacture or sale of motorboats may, instead of obtaining a certificate of number for each motorboat owned by the manufacturer or dealer, make application on forms provided by the commissioner for a dealer's certificate of number.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

- 2. Issuance. If the manufacturer or dealer making application under subsection 1 satisfies the commissioner that the applicant is qualified for a dealer's certificate of number, the commissioner shall issue the applicant a dealer's certificate of number containing the place of business of the applicant and a general distinguishing number in such form as determined by the commissioner. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **3. Fee.** The fee for a dealer's certificate of number is \$17 annually from each January 1st. [PL 2005, c. 12, Pt. III, §40 (AMD).]
- **4. Restrictions.** The dealer or manufacturer who receives a dealer's certificate of number pursuant to this section shall display the number and validation stickers issued under the dealer's certificate of number on a motorboat being demonstrated or tested. The dealer or manufacturer may transfer the number from one motorboat owned by that dealer or manufacturer to another motorboat owned by that dealer or manufacturer by temporarily attaching removable plates on which a dealer's number and validation stickers may be displayed on the bow of any boat covered by the dealer's certificate of number.

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §365 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- **5. Penalty.** The following penalties apply to violations of subsection 4.
- A. A person who violates subsection 4 commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §366 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

B. A person who violates subsection 4 after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §366 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §366 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §§B365,366 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 12, §III40 (AMD).

§13060. Temporary registration certificate

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §\$B367,368 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2009, c. 340, §19 (RPR). PL 2011, c. 533, §8 (RP).

§13060-A. Temporary registration certificate

- 1. Twenty-day certificate. The commissioner may issue temporary registration certificates to a registered dealer, who may, upon the sale or exchange of a boat, issue a temporary registration certificate to a new owner in order to allow the new owner to operate the boat for a period of 20 consecutive days after the date of sale in lieu of a permanent number as required by this chapter. The fee for each temporary registration certificate is \$1.
- [PL 2011, c. 533, §9 (NEW).]
- **2. Penalty.** A person who operates a boat with an expired temporary registration certificate commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$250 may be adjudged. [PL 2011, c. 533, §9 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2011, c. 533, §9 (NEW).

§13061. Permit to hold regatta, race, boat exhibition or water-ski exhibition

- **1. Permit required.** A person may not hold a regatta, race, boat exhibition or water-ski exhibition without a permit from the commissioner issued under subsection 2.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §369 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §369 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §369 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **2. Issuance.** The commissioner may issue a permit to a person permitting the person to hold a regatta, race, boat exhibition or water-ski exhibition on any of the internal waters of this State. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **3. Application.** The person in charge of a regatta, race, boat exhibition or water-ski exhibition shall request the permit required under subsection 1 from the commissioner at least 15 days prior to the event. The request must be in writing and must set forth the date, time and location of the event. The person in charge of a proposed motorboat race shall send a letter of intent 60 days prior to the event to municipal officers of the municipality or municipalities in which the race will occur. A copy of the

letter of intent must be forwarded to the commissioner with the request for a permit to hold any motorboat race.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

- **4. Requirements.** The following requirements apply to permits issued under this section.
- A. The person obtaining the permit under subsection 2 shall provide reasonable protection, as prescribed by the commissioner, from water traffic interference and hazards and shall take reasonable precautions to safeguard persons and property. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §369 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. During any event authorized pursuant to subsection 1, the officials conducting it shall conspicuously display one or more orange warning flags of a size not less than 4 feet by 4 feet while the event is in progress. The officials shall remove the warning flag or flags for reasonable periods of time during the event to allow nonparticipating watercraft to pass through the area. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §369 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- **4-A. Penalty.** The following penalties apply to violations of subsection 4.
- A. A person who violates subsection 4 commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §370 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates subsection 4 after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §370 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **5.** Unlawfully crossing event area. Except in an emergency, an operator of a watercraft may not cross the area of a regatta, race, boat exhibition authorized under subsection 1 or water-ski exhibition when the warning flag required under subsection 4, paragraph B is displayed.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §371 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §371 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §371 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §§B369-371 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13062. Certificate of number for motorboats carrying passengers for hire

- 1. Certificate required. A person may not operate a motorboat carrying passengers for hire without a certificate of number as required under this section.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §372 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §372 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §372 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **2. Application.** Before a motorboat may carry passengers for hire, the owner of the motorboat shall apply for and obtain from the commissioner a certificate of number authorizing its use for that purpose. This section applies to all motorboats carrying passengers for hire as defined in section 13001, subsection 17, except those subject to federal inspection requirements that have or are required to have a current valid federal inspection certificate on board.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

- **3. Issuance.** Before the certificate of number required under subsection 1 is issued, the owner shall satisfy the commissioner that the boat is safe to operate and will be maintained in safe condition. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **4. Examinations.** The commissioner may cause a motorboat carrying passengers for hire to be examined from time to time.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B372 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13063. Requirements for operators who carry passengers for hire with motorboat

- 1. Prohibition. A person may not operate a motorboat carrying passengers for hire without having successfully completed a boater safety education course approved by a national association of state boating law administrators and approved by the commissioner. A person operating a motorboat carrying passengers for hire shall provide proof of having successfully completed a course under this subsection when requested by the commissioner or the commissioner's agent. For purposes of this section, "carrying passengers for hire" means receiving remuneration to carry passengers in a motorboat from one predetermined point to another predetermined point on inland waters.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §373 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §373 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2019, c. 324, §3 (AMD).]
- **2. Requirement.** Every operator of a motorboat, other than a licensed Maine guide certified in watercraft safety, carrying passengers for hire, except those operators who have been issued and have or are required to have in their possession a current valid federal operator's license, shall show proof of having successfully completed an approved boater safety education course in accordance with subsection 1 upon request of the commissioner or the commissioner's agent.
 - A. [PL 2019, c. 324, §3 (RP).]
- B. [PL 2019, c. 324, §3 (RP).]

[PL 2019, c. 324, §3 (AMD).]

3. Issuance.

[PL 2019, c. 324, §3 (RP).]

4. Fee.

[PL 2019, c. 324, §3 (RP).]

5. Renewal.

[PL 2019, c. 324, §3 (RP).]

6. Expiration.

[PL 2019, c. 324, §3 (RP).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B373 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 324, §3 (AMD).

§13064. Certificate of number for motorboats rented or leased

- 1. Certificate of number required. Before any motorboat is rented or leased, the owner of the motorboat shall obtain a certificate of number from the commissioner under section 13056. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §374 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - **2. Penalty.** The following penalties apply to violations of this section.
 - A. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §374 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. A person who violates this section after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §374 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §374 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B374 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13065. Personal watercraft rental agent certificate

- **1. Prohibition.** A person may not rent or lease a personal watercraft in violation of this section. This subsection does not apply to:
 - A. A campground licensed by the Department of Health and Human Services that offers the personal watercraft owned by that campground exclusively for use by campground clientele; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 689, Pt. B, §6 (REV).]
 - B. A commercial sporting camp. For the purposes of this subsection, "commercial sporting camp" means a business consisting of primitive lodging facilities that offers the public the opportunity to pursue primitive hunting, fishing, boating or snowmobiling activities; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - C. A person lawfully engaged in guiding activities under section 12853 who accompanies others on guided trips that include the use of personal watercraft; or [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - D. A property owner who offers a person renting or leasing that property the use of a personal watercraft registered to the property owner. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §375 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 689, Pt. B, §6 (REV).]
 - **1-A. Penalty.** The following penalties apply to violations of subsection 1.

- A. A person who violates subsection 1 commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §376 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates subsection 1 after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §376 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §376 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **2. Registration and issuance.** Except as provided in this section, a person or business may not rent or lease a personal watercraft unless that person or business:
 - A. Registers with the department as a personal watercraft rental agent and is issued a personal watercraft rental and leasing agent certificate from the commissioner; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - B. Obtains a Maine certificate of number for each personal watercraft being offered for rent or lease in the name of the person or business holding a personal watercraft rental and leasing agent certificate; and [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - C. Provides each person who rents or leases a personal watercraft with written instructions on how to operate the personal watercraft. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **3. Fee.** The fee for a personal watercraft rental and leasing agent certificate is \$25. The certificate is valid from January 1st to December 31st.
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **4. Revocation of certificate.** The commissioner may revoke a personal watercraft rental and leasing agent certificate issued pursuant to subsection 2 if the commissioner determines that the certificate holder:
 - A. Rented or leased a personal watercraft that was unsafe; [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - B. Failed to instruct a person intending to rent or lease a personal watercraft on personal watercraft safety. The department shall provide each certificate holder with written materials and instructional guidelines on personal watercraft safety that the certificate holder shall review with each personal watercraft renter or lessor before that person operates that personal watercraft. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §\$B375,376 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 689, §B6 (REV).

§13066. Displaying excise tax decal and maintaining list

- 1. Failure to display excise tax decal. The owner of a watercraft shall display the excise tax decal, as required by Title 36, chapter 112. In all cases when the owner of a watercraft fails to display an excise tax decal as required under Title 36, chapter 112, the law enforcement officer discovering the failure shall notify the tax collector of the owner's residence or, in the case of nonresidents, partnerships or corporations, foreign or domestic, the tax collector of the municipality where the watercraft is principally moored, docked or located or has its established base of operations.
 - A. A person who fails to display an excise tax decal in accordance with this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$25 nor more than \$250 may be adjudged, which

- must be paid to the municipality in which the watercraft is subject to the excise tax. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §377 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who fails to display an excise tax decal in accordance with this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. Any fine imposed as part of the sentencing alternative must be paid to the municipality in which the watercraft is subject to the excise tax. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §377 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §377 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **2.** Failure to maintain list or make list available. A marina or boatyard owner shall maintain the list required by Title 36, section 1504, subsection 9, and make that list available as required by that section.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$25 nor more than \$250 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §377 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §377 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §377 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B377 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13067. Waste water discharge in inland waters

- **1. Prohibition.** A person may not launch a watercraft into or operate a watercraft on inland waters when that watercraft has a marine toilet, shower or sink unless:
 - A. The waste water from the toilet, shower or sink is fed directly into a holding tank; and [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- B. The holding tank for sanitary waste water is not in any way connected to any through-hull fittings. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - **2. Penalty.** The following penalties apply to violations of this section.
 - A. A person who violates subsection 1 commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §378 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. A person who violates subsection 1 after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §378 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §378 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B378 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13068. Operating watercraft; prohibitions

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 627, §3 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B379 (RP). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 397, §E15 (AMD).

§13068-A. Operating watercraft; prohibitions (CONFLICT)

- 1. Launching contaminated watercraft. A person may not place a watercraft that is contaminated with an invasive aquatic plant upon the inland waters of the State.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$500 and not more than \$5,000 per violation may be adjudged. A fine imposed under this subsection may not be suspended by the court. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **2.** Unlawfully permitting operation by another. A person may not permit operation of a watercraft in violation of this subsection.
 - A. A person violates this subsection if that person owns a watercraft and negligently permits another person to operate that watercraft in violation of this chapter.
 - (1) A person who violates this paragraph commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
 - (2) A person who violates this paragraph after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. A person violates this subsection if that person is the parent or guardian responsible for the care of a minor under 18 years of age and the minor operates a personal watercraft in violation of this chapter.
 - (1) A person who violates this paragraph commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
- (2) A person who violates this paragraph after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **3. Operating motorboat other than personal watercraft while underage.** A person under 12 years of age may not operate a motorboat propelled by machinery of more than 10 horsepower unless under the immediate supervision of a person located in the motorboat who is at least 16 years of age.

This subsection does not apply to operating a personal watercraft.

A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **3-A. Supervising young person.** Beginning January 1, 2024, a person born on or after January 1, 1999 may not supervise a person in accordance with subsection 3 unless that supervisor is 16 years of age or older and has completed a boater safety and education course.

This subsection does not apply to the operation of personal watercraft or motorboats other than for recreational boating purposes.

- A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2021, c. 656, §4 (NEW).]
- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2021, c. 656, §4 (NEW).]

[PL 2023, c. 206, §4 (AMD).]

- **4. Operating watercraft without proper safety equipment.** Except as provided in paragraph B, a person may not operate a watercraft without proper safety equipment as described in paragraph A.
 - A. A person operates a watercraft without proper safety equipment if the person operates a watercraft and:
 - (1) Fails to comply with the same requirements pertaining to lights, life-saving devices, fire extinguishers and other safety equipment as required by federal laws and regulations on federal navigable waters, as promulgated under the Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971, Public Law 92-75, as amended;
 - (2) Fails to comply with requirements pertaining to additional equipment not in conflict with federal navigation laws, which the commissioner may prescribe if there is a demonstrated need;
 - (3) Fails to wear a Coast Guard approved personal flotation device while canoeing or kayaking on the Saco River between Hiram Dam and the Atlantic Ocean between January 1st and June 1st; or
 - (4) Fails to wear a Coast Guard approved personal flotation device while operating a watercraft on:
 - (a) The Penobscot River, between the gorge and the head of Big Eddy; or
 - (b) The Kennebec River, between Harris Station and Turtle Island, at the foot of Black Brook Rapids. [PL 2023, c. 228, §§13, 14 (AMD).]
 - B. Notwithstanding paragraph A:
 - (1) Canoes, owned by a youth camp located upon internal waters in the State and duly licensed by the Department of Health and Human Services and utilized by campers under the direction and supervision of a youth camp counselor at least 18 years of age or older during training and instruction periods on waters adjacent to the main location of the youth camp within a distance of 500 feet from the shoreline of that camp, are exempt from this subsection; and
 - (2) Log rafts, carrying not more than 2 persons and used on ponds or lakes or internal waters of less than 50 acres in area, are exempt from carrying personal flotation devices. [PL 2009, c. 211, Pt. B, §14 (AMD).]
 - C. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.

- (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2023, c. 228, §§13, 14 (AMD).]
- **5. Operating watercraft to endanger.** A person may not operate any of the following so as to endanger any person or property:
 - A. Watercraft; [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. Water ski; or [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - C. Surfboard or similar device. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

A person who violates this subsection commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- **6.** Reckless operation of watercraft. A person may not operate any of the following in such a way as to recklessly create a substantial risk of serious bodily injury to another person:
 - A. Watercraft; [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. Water ski; or [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - C. Surfboard or similar device. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

A person who violates this subsection commits a Class D crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- 7. Operating watercraft at greater than reasonable and prudent speed. A person:
- A. May not operate a watercraft except at a reasonable and prudent speed for existing conditions; and [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. Shall regulate the speed of a watercraft so as to avoid danger, injury or unnecessary inconvenience in any manner to other watercraft and their occupants, whether anchored or under way; waterfront piers; floats or other property or shorelines, either directly or by the effect of the wash or wave created by the watercraft through its speed, or otherwise. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

A person who violates this subsection commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- **8. Imprudent operation of watercraft.** A person may not, while operating a watercraft on the inland or coastal waters of the State, engage in prolonged circling, informal racing, wake jumping or other types of continued and repeated activities that harass another person.
 - A. This subsection may be enforced by any law enforcement officer or a person may bring a private nuisance action for a violation of this subsection pursuant to Title 17, section 2802. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.

- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **9.** Operating watercraft to molest wild animals or wild birds. A person may not operate a watercraft so as to pursue, molest, harass, drive or herd any wild animal or wild bird, except as may be permitted during the open season on that animal.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- 10. Operating motorboat that exceeds noise limits. The following provisions govern noise limits.
 - A. (CONFLICT: Text as amended by PL 2023, c. 583, §1 and c. 646, Pt. A, §18) A person may not operate a motorboat in such a manner as to exceed:
 - (1) A noise level of 90 decibels when subjected to a stationary sound level test with and without cutouts engaged and as prescribed by the commissioner; or
 - (2) A noise level of 75 decibels when subjected to an operational test measured with and without cutouts engaged and as prescribed by the commissioner.
 - (CONFLICT: Text as amended by PL 2023, c. 583, §1) As used in this paragraph, "motorboat" does not include an airboat as defined in subsection 10-A.
 - (CONFLICT: Text as amended by PL 2023, c. 646, Pt. A, §18) As used in this paragraph, "motorboat" does not include an airboat. For the purposes of this paragraph, "airboat" means a flat-bottomed watercraft propelled by an aircraft-type propeller and powered by either an aircraft engine or an automotive engine. [PL 2023, c. 583, §1 (AMD); PL 2023, c. 646, Pt. A, §18 (AMD).]
 - A-1. [PL 2021, c. 166, §1 (RP).]
 - A-2. [PL 2021, c. 585, §1 (AMD); PL 2023, c. 209, §1 (AMD); MRSA T. 12 §13068-A, sub-§10, ¶A-2 (RP).]
 - **REVISOR'S NOTE:** Paragraph A-2 was repealed 9/30/23. PL 2023, c. 209, §1 attempted to amend the language that repealed the paragraph, but did not take effect in time.
 - B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$300 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
 - (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - C. This subsection does not apply to motorboats that are operating in a regatta or race approved by the commissioner under section 13061. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2023, c. 583, §1 (AMD); PL 2023, c. 646, Pt. A, §18 (AMD).]

- 10-A. Operating airboat that exceeds noise limits. The following provisions govern airboat noise limits.
 - A. A person may not operate an airboat:
 - (1) If the noise level of the airboat exceeds 90 decibels as measured in a stationary sound level test as prescribed by SAE standards J-2005;
 - (2) Between the hours of 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. in such a manner as to exceed a noise level of 75 decibels on the "A" scale as measured by the SAE standards J-1970, referred to in this paragraph as "the shoreline test," except to the extent necessary to achieve headway speed when leaving a boat launch or to move the airboat from a stationary position on a tidal flat; or
 - (3) After 7 a.m. and before 7 p.m. in such a manner as to exceed a noise level of 90 decibels as measured by the shoreline test, except to the extent necessary to achieve headway speed when leaving a boat launch or to move the airboat from a stationary position on a tidal flat. [PL 2023, c. 583, §2 (NEW).]
 - B. This subsection does not apply to the operation of an airboat by a marine patrol officer appointed under section 6025, subsection 1, a game warden or a municipal law enforcement officer. [PL 2023, c. 583, §2 (NEW).]
 - C. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$300 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
 - (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2023, c. 583, §2 (NEW).]

For purposes of this subsection, "airboat" means a flat-bottomed watercraft propelled by an aircraft-type propeller and powered by either an aircraft engine or an automotive engine and "SAE standards" means technical standards adopted by the Society of Automotive Engineers. [PL 2023, c. 583, §2 (NEW).]

- 11. Operating motorboat without muffler. A person may not operate a motorboat that is not equipped at all times with an effective and suitable muffling device on its engine or engines to effectively deaden or muffle the noise of the exhaust, except that motorboats that are operating in a regatta or race approved by the commissioner under section 13061 may use cutouts for these motorboats while on trial runs or competing in speed events, for a period not to exceed 48 hours immediately preceding or following such an authorized event.
 - A. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- 12. Tampering with motorboat muffler system. A person may not modify a motorboat muffler system in any way that results in an increase in the decibels of sound emitted by that motorboat.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine not to exceed \$100 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - 13. Headway speed only. The following provisions govern speeds in certain zones.
 - A. A person may not operate a watercraft at a speed greater than headway speed while within the water safety zone or within a marina or an approved anchorage in coastal or inland waters except:
 - (1) While actively fishing; or
 - (2) While picking up or dropping off one or more persons on water skis in the water safety zone if a reasonably direct course is taken through the water safety zone between the point that the skiers are picked up or dropped off and the outer boundary of the water safety zone. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. For the purposes of this subsection, "headway speed" means the minimum speed necessary to maintain steerage and control of the watercraft while the watercraft is moving. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - C. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **14. Operating motorboat in bathing areas.** The following provisions apply to operating a motorboat in a bathing area.
 - A. A person may not:
 - (1) Operate a motorboat within a bathing area marked or buoyed for bathing; or
 - (2) Operate an airmobile on a beach adjacent to a bathing area marked or buoyed for bathing. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **15.** Violation of surface use restriction order. A person may not operate, launch or remove a watercraft at a restricted-access site or refuse inspection of a watercraft in violation of an order issued under Title 38, section 1864.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$500 and not more than \$5,000 per violation may be adjudged. A fine imposed under this subsection may not be suspended by the court. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2005, c. 397, Pt. E, §16 (AMD).]
- **16. Operating motorboat in prohibited or restricted area.** The following provisions apply to operating a motorboat in prohibited or restricted areas.

A. A person may not:

- (1) Operate a motorboat on that portion of Portage Lake in Township T. 13, R. 6, W.E.L.S., County of Aroostook, known as the Floating Island Area, north and westerly of a line beginning at the eastern edge of the marshy peninsula running out from Hutchinson Ridge, running 50 yards outside of the floating islands in a northerly direction to the mouth of Mosquito Brook;
- (2) Operate a motorboat on Quimby Pond in the Town of Rangeley, Franklin County;
- (3) Operate a motorboat upon the waters of Jerry Pond, so called, situated within the boundaries, or having a shore line abutting, the incorporated municipality of Millinocket and the unincorporated Townships being T.1, R. 7 and T.A., R. 7, all in Penobscot County;
- (4) Operate a motorboat on Upper and Lower Ox Brook Lakes in the Towns of T. 6 ND, T. 6 RI and Talmadge in Washington County;
- (5) Operate a motorboat on Little Nesowadnehunk (Sournahunk) Lake, in T. 5, R. 11, Piscataquis County;
- (6) Operate a motorboat having more than 10 horsepower on Eagle Lake and Jordan Pond, Mt. Desert Island, Hancock County and Long Pond, T.E. and T. D., Franklin County;
- (7) Operate a motorboat on a body of water commonly known as and referred to in the Dunham-Davee Work Plan as Snow's Pond, situated west of Route 7 in the Town of Dover-Foxcroft, Piscataquis County;
- (8) Operate a motorboat having more than 6 horsepower on Long Pond, Town of Denmark, Oxford County;
- (9) Operate a motorboat on Lily Pond, Edgecomb, Lincoln County;
- (10) Operate a motorboat powered by an internal combustion engine on Nokomis Pond, situated in the Towns of Newport and Palmyra, Penobscot County;
- (11) Operate a motorboat in Merrymeeting Bay at a speed in excess of 10 miles per hour, except within the confines of the buoyed channels;
- (12) Operate a motorboat equipped with an internal combustion engine on the following waters on Mount Desert Island in Hancock County: Witch Hole Pond; Aunt Betty's Pond; Bubble Pond; Round Pond; and Lake Wood;
- (13) Operate a motorboat equipped with a motor greater than 10 horsepower on Upper Hadlock Pond or Lower Hadlock Pond on Mount Desert Island in Hancock County;
- (14) Operate a personal watercraft in violation of section 685-C, subsection 10 or any rule adopted by the Maine Land Use Planning Commission to implement that subsection;
- (15) Operate a watercraft at greater than headway speed on any area of Torsey Lake within 1/2 mile from the boat launch on Desert Pond Road in the Town of Mount Vernon:
- (16) Operate a watercraft at greater than headway speed on any area of Torsey Lake within 1/2 mile from the boat launch on Old Kents Hill Road in the Town of Readfield;

- (17) Operate a watercraft equipped with a motor greater than 10 horsepower on Cold Rain Pond in the Town of Naples or on Holt Pond in the Town of Naples and the Town of Bridgton;
- (18) Operate a watercraft equipped with a motor greater than 5 horsepower on Moose Pond in the Town of Otisfield;
- (19) Operate a watercraft at greater than headway speed on any area of Pickerel Pond in the Town of Wayne;
- (20) Operate a motorboat having more than 10 horsepower on Middle Branch Pond in the Town of Waterboro in York County;
- (21) Operate a motorboat having more than 10 horsepower on Adams Pond, Foster Pond or Otter Pond in the Town of Bridgton in Cumberland County; or
- (22) Operate a motorboat having more than 10 horsepower on Pickerel Pond in the territory of T.32 MD in Hancock County. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF); PL 2011, c. 682, §38 (REV).]
- B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §380 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF); PL 2011, c. 682, §38 (REV).]
- 17. Operating motorboat without boater safety and education course certificate. The following provisions apply to operating a motorboat.
 - A. Except as provided in paragraph C, beginning January 1, 2024, a person born on or after January 1, 1999 may not operate on inland waters of this State or territorial waters, as defined in section 6001, subsection 48-B, a motorboat for recreational boating purposes propelled by machinery capable of producing more than 25 horsepower unless that person is 12 years of age or older and:
 - (1) Has completed a boater safety and education course; and
 - (2) Possesses and presents for inspection upon request to a law enforcement officer a boater safety and education course certificate. [PL 2023, c. 206, §5 (AMD).]
 - B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
 - (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2021, c. 656, §5 (NEW).]
 - C. A person is not required to meet the boater safety and education course requirement of this subsection if the person:
 - (1) Possesses a valid Maine guide license and has met the requirements for carrying passengers for hire under section 13063:
 - (2) Possesses a valid or expired United States merchant marine document issued by the United States Coast Guard for an operator of uninspected passenger vessel, or master or mate captain's license:

- (3) Is test driving a motorboat that is registered in accordance with section 13060-A and that is offered for sale by a dealer that has been issued a watercraft dealer's certificate of number and the person is under the direct supervision of a person 16 years of age or older who has completed a boater safety and education course;
- (4) Possesses a rental or lease agreement that lists the person as an authorized operator of the motorboat and the person has completed a temporary boater safety course provided by the rental agent who has been issued a certificate of number as described in section 13064. A renter or lessor meeting the requirements of this subparagraph may operate the rented or leased motorboat for up to 14 days from the date of course completion or for the duration of the rental agreement, whichever is earlier; or
- (5) Is not a citizen of the United States, arrived to the United States by sea and is temporarily operating on territorial waters as defined in section 6001, subsection 48-B for 60 days or less. [PL 2023, c. 206, §6 (AMD).]

[PL 2023, c. 206, §§5, 6 (AMD).]

- 18. Operating motorboat for wakesurfing activity; minimum depth and distance from shore requirement. A person may not operate a motorboat engaged in a wakesurfing activity in less than 15 feet of water or within 300 feet of the shoreline.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine not to exceed \$100 may be adjudged. [PL 2023, c. 611, §3 (NEW).]
 - B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2023, c. 611, §3 (NEW).]

[PL 2023, c. 611, §3 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 655, §B380 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 689, §B6 (REV). PL 2005, c. 397, §E16 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 211, Pt. B, §14 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 682, §38 (REV). PL 2019, c. 662, §§1, 2 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 166, §1 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 585, §1 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 656, §§4, 5 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 206, §§4-6 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 209, §1 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 228, §§13, 14 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 583, §§1, 2 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 611, §3 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 646, Pt. A, §18 (AMD).

§13069. Watercraft accident; requirements

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B381 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 436, §3 (RP).

§13069-A. Watercraft accidents involving personal injury or death

The following provisions govern accidents involving watercraft that result in personal injury or death of a person. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

- 1. Law enforcement officer notification. The operator of a watercraft involved in an accident that results in personal injury or death of a person or results in the disappearance of a person indicating death or injury shall immediately report the accident, by the quickest means of communication, to the available law enforcement officer nearest to the place where the accident occurred.
 - A. The owner of a watercraft who knows that that watercraft was involved in an accident as described in this subsection shall report the accident as provided in this subsection if the operator of the watercraft is unknown. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

[PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

- **2. Provide information to injured party.** The operator or a person acting on behalf of the operator of a watercraft involved in an accident shall provide to an injured person or the operator or an occupant of any other watercraft involved in the accident:
 - A. The operator's name and address; and [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]
- B. The registration number of the operator's watercraft. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).] [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]
- **3. Render assistance.** The operator of a watercraft involved in an accident shall render reasonable assistance to an injured person.

[PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

- **4. Penalties.** A person who violates this section commits a Class E crime. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]
- **5. Aggravated punishment category.** Notwithstanding subsection 4, a person who intentionally, knowingly or recklessly fails to comply with this section when the accident resulted in serious bodily injury, as defined in Title 17-A, section 2, subsection 23, or death, commits a Class C crime.

[PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).

§13069-B. Watercraft accidents involving property damage

The following provisions govern accidents involving watercraft that result in property damage only. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

- **1. Provide information.** The operator of a watercraft involved in a collision or accident that results in property damage shall provide the owner or operator of that property:
 - A. The operator's name and address; and [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]
- B. The registration number of the operator's watercraft. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).] [PL 2015, c. 301, §44 (AMD).]
- **2. Render assistance.** The operator of a watercraft involved in an accident shall render reasonable assistance to all persons involved in the accident as far as the operator can without serious damage to the operator's watercraft or serious risk to crew or passengers.

[PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

3. Violation. A person who violates this section commits a Class E crime. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW). PL 2015, c. 301, §44 (AMD).

§13069-C. Watercraft accident reports

A person shall report a watercraft accident to the commissioner in accordance with this section. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

1. Injury to person. An operator or owner of a watercraft involved in a collision, accident or other casualty while using the watercraft that results in the death of a person, a person's losing consciousness or receiving medical treatment, a person's becoming disabled for more than 24 hours or the disappearence of a person from a watercraft under circumstances indicating death or injury shall file a written report on forms provided by the commissioner containing the information as required by the commissioner within 24 hours of the occurrence.

[PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

2. Damage to watercraft. Accidents involving only damage to watercraft or other property to the estimated amount of \$2,000 or more must be reported within 72 hours on forms provided by the commissioner.

[PL 2015, c. 301, §45 (AMD).]

- 3. Penalties. The following penalties apply to violations of this section.
- A. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]
- B. A person who violates this section after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

[PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2005, c. 436, §4 (NEW). PL 2015, c. 301, §45 (AMD).

§13070. Operating airmobile

- 1. No permission given. This chapter does not give license or permission to cross or go on the property of another.
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **2. Stop and identify requirement.** Persons operating an airmobile upon the land of another shall stop and identify themselves upon the request of the landowner or the landowner's duly authorized representative. A person who violates this subsection commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **3. Restrictions.** If restrictions on operation are posted on the land of another, a person operating an airmobile shall observe those restrictions.
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **4. Operating airmobile upon public way.** Except as provided in this subsection, a person may not operate an airmobile upon a public way.
 - A. Properly registered airmobiles may cross public ways, including bridges, overpasses and underpasses. For crossing public ways, sidewalks and culverts, persons operating airmobiles may travel only the distance necessary, but in no case exceeding 300 yards, for the sole purpose of crossing as directly as possible. For crossing bridges, overpasses and underpasses, persons operating airmobiles may travel only the distance necessary, but in no case exceeding 500 yards, for the sole purpose of crossing as directly as possible. All crossings are subject to the following conditions:
 - (1) The operator of the airmobile may cross public ways only if the crossing can be made safely and does not interfere with vehicular traffic approaching from either direction;
 - (2) The operator of the airmobile shall dismount and lead the machine along the extreme right of the traveled way; and
 - (3) The operator of the airmobile shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicular traffic. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.

- (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **5. Failing to stop airmobile before entering public way.** A person shall bring an airmobile to a complete stop before entering a public way.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **6.** Failing to yield right-of-way while operating airmobile. A person shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicular traffic while operating an airmobile on a public way.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **7. Operating airmobile that exceeds noise limit.** Airmobiles are subject to the following noise level limits.
 - A. Except as provided in this paragraph, a person may not operate an airmobile that exceeds 78 decibels of sound pressure at 50 feet on the "A" scale, as measured by the Society of Automotive Engineers standards J-192. Airmobiles that are operating in a race approved by the commissioner under section 13061 may exceed this maximum noise level. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
 - B. A person may not operate an airmobile in such a manner as to exceed:
 - (1) A noise level of 90 decibels when subjected to a stationary sound level test with and without cutouts engaged and as prescribed by the commissioner; or
 - (2) A noise level of 75 decibels when subjected to an operational test measured with and without cutouts engaged and as prescribed by the commissioner. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - C. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$300 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.

- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **8.** Operating airmobile on railroad tracks. A person may not operate an airmobile along or adjacent and parallel to the tracks of any railroad within the limits of the railroad right-of-way without written permission from the railroad.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **9.** Operating airmobile too close to certain buildings. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (RP); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **10. Operating airmobile too close to certain buildings.** Except as provided in this subsection, a person may not operate an airmobile within 200 feet of a dwelling, hospital, nursing home, convalescent home or church.
 - A. This subsection does not apply to a person operating an airmobile:
 - (1) On public ways in accordance with subsections 4, 5, 6 and 7;
 - (2) On the frozen surface of any body of water; and
 - (3) On land that the operator owns or is permitted to use. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 - B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
 - (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §382 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B382 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13071. Operating personal watercraft

(REPEALED)

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B383 (RP). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF).

§13071-A. Operating personal watercraft

- 1. Operating personal watercraft while underage. A person under 16 years of age may not operate a personal watercraft.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §384 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §384 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §384 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **2.** Additional safety requirements while operating personal watercraft. The following provisions apply to operating or being a passenger on a personal watercraft.
 - A. A person may not:
 - (1) Operate or be a passenger on a personal watercraft unless the person is wearing a Coast Guard approved personal flotation device; or
 - (2) Operate a personal watercraft during the hours between sunset and sunrise. [PL 2023, c. 228, §15 (AMD).]
 - B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §384 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2023, c. 228, §15 (AMD).]
- **3.** Operating rented or leased personal watercraft without identification decal. A person may not operate a rented or leased personal watercraft on Brandy Pond in the Town of Naples or on Long Lake in the Town of Naples, the Town of Bridgton and the Town of Harrison that does not have a clearly visible decal affixed to the personal watercraft that identifies the rental agent.
 - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §384 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §384 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
 [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §384 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
- **4. Operating personal watercraft in prohibited area.** The following provisions apply to operating a watercraft in prohibited areas.
 - A. A person may not operate a personal watercraft on:
 - (1) Mud Pond, Oversett Pond, South Pond, Round Pond, Twitchell Pond, Hicks Pond, Indian Pond or Furlong Pond in the Town of Greenwood in Oxford County;
 - (2) North Pond or Bryant Pond, also known as Christopher Lake, in the Town of Greenwood and the Town of Woodstock in Oxford County;
 - (3) Concord Pond, Little Concord Pond or Shagg Pond in the Town of Woodstock in Oxford County;

- (4) Hamilton Pond in Bar Harbor in Hancock County;
- (5) Bog Lake or Horseshoe Lake in the Town of Northfield in Washington County;
- (6) Megunticook Lake in the Town of Camden and the Town of Hope in Knox County and the Town of Lincolnville in Waldo County;
- (7) Hobbs Pond, Fish Pond or Alford Lake in the Town of Hope in Knox County;
- (8) Norton Pond or Coleman Pond in the Town of Lincolnville in Waldo County;
- (9) Pitcher Pond in the Town of Lincolnville and the Town of Northport in Waldo County;
- (10) Torsey Lake in the Town of Mount Vernon and the Town of Readfield in Kennebec County;
- (11) Trickey Pond in the Town of Naples in Cumberland County;
- (12) Brandy Pond in the Town of Naples in Cumberland County between sunset and 9:00 a.m.;
- (13) Fulton Lake in the Town of Northfield in Washington County;
- (14) Knight Pond in the Town of Northport in Waldo County;
- (15) Moose Pond or Saturday Pond in the Town of Otisfield in Oxford County;
- (16) Tripp Pond, Upper Range Pond or Middle Range Pond in the Town of Poland in Androscoggin County;
- (17) Keewaydin Lake, Virginia Lake, Trout Pond, Weymouth Pond or Whitney Pond in the Town of Stoneham in Oxford County;
- (18) Lermond Pond in the Town of Union and the Town of Hope in Knox County;
- (19) Pocasset Lake or Pickerel Pond in the Town of Wayne in Kennebec County;
- (20) Androscoggin Lake in the Town of Wayne in Kennebec County and the Town of Leeds in Androscoggin County;
- (21) Little Cobbosseecontee Lake in the Town of Winthrop in Kennebec County;
- (22) Somes Pond in the Town of Mount Desert;
- (23) Long Pond in the Town of Mount Desert and the Town of Southwest Harbor;
- (24) Little Long Pond in the Town of Mount Desert;
- (25) Meetinghouse Pond, Big Pond, Wat Tuh Lake, Center Pond and Silver Lake, also known as Silver Pond, in the Town of Phippsburg in Sagadahoc County;
- (26) South Branch Lake in the Plantation of Seboeis and the Township of T2 R8 NWP in Penobscot County;
- (27) Spring Lake in Spring Lake Township in Somerset County;
- (28) Kennebago Lake and Kennebago River in Davis Township and Stetsontown Township in Franklin County;
- (29) Nicatous Lake in the Townships of T40 MD, T41 MD and T3 ND in Hancock County;
- (30) Crystal Lake in the Town of Washington in Knox County;
- (31) Middle Branch Pond in the Town of Waterboro in York County;
- (32) Highland Lake or Woods Pond in the Town of Bridgton in Cumberland County if the personal watercraft is rented and does not display a decal identifying the rental agency that owns the personal watercraft;

- (33) Lake St. George in the Town of Liberty; or
- (34) Keyes Pond in the Town of Sweden in Oxford County. [PL 2023, c. 106, §§1-3 (AMD).]
- B. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.
- (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §384 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).] [PL 2023, c. 106, §§1-3 (AMD).]
- 5. Operating personal watercraft while 16 years of age or older and under 18 years of age; boater education.

[PL 2021, c. 656, §6 (AMD); MRSA T. 12 §13071-A, sub-§5 (RP).]

- **6.** Operating personal watercraft while 16 years of age or older; boater safety and education course requirement. Beginning January 1, 2024, a person born on or after January 1, 1999 may not operate a personal watercraft on inland waters of the State or territorial waters, as defined in section 6001, subsection 48-B, unless that person is 16 years of age or older and has completed a boater safety and education course.
 - A. The following penalties apply to violations of this subsection.
 - (1) A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 and not more than \$500 may be adjudged.
 - (2) A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2021, c. 656, §7 (NEW).]

[PL 2023, c. 206, §7 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 655, §B384 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 536, §1 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 536, §3 (AFF). PL 2021, c. 656, §\$6, 7 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 106, §\$1-3 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 206, §7 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 228, §15 (AMD).

§13072. Harbor masters on inland waters

1. Appointment; compensation. The municipal officers of a town that borders or contains inland waters but does not border or contain territorial waters may appoint a harbor master for a term of not less than one year and may establish the harbor master's compensation. Except as provided in subsection 2-A, the harbor master is subject to all the duties and liabilities of that office as prescribed by state law, municipal ordinances and rules promulgated by the municipality. The municipal officers may remove the harbor master from office for cause, declared in writing, after due notice to the harbor master and a hearing, if requested.

For purposes of this subsection, "territorial waters" has the same meaning as provided in section 6001, subsection 48-B.

[PL 2005, c. 492, §2 (AMD).]

2. Authority and responsibility. Except as provided in subsection 2-A, a harbor master appointed under this section shall enforce the watercraft laws of the State and the municipality on any water within the jurisdiction of the municipality.

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 627, §4 (AMD).]

- **2-A.** Authority to enforce invasive aquatic species laws. A municipality may appoint a harbor master whose only duties are to enforce the provisions of section 13058 and section 13068-A, subsections 1 and 15 on any water within the jurisdiction of the municipality. [RR 2003, c. 2, §22 (COR).]
- **3. Jointly appointed harbor masters.** The municipal officers of 2 or more municipalities that border on the same inland waters may jointly appoint a single harbor master who has authority over the jurisdictions of all the participating municipalities.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

- **4. Power to arrest for assault.** The municipal officers may prohibit a harbor master from making an arrest or carrying a weapon. A harbor master who is not prohibited from making arrests may arrest and deliver to the law enforcement authorities on shore any person committing an assault upon the harbor master or another person acting under the harbor master's authority. A harbor master may not make arrests or carry a firearm unless the harbor master has successfully completed the training requirements prescribed in Title 25, section 2804-I. [PL 2005, c. 492, §3 (NEW).]
- **5. Mooring sites.** The regulation of moorings in inland waters is governed by Title 38, except that Title 38 may not be construed to require the municipal officers of a town that does not border or contain territorial waters to appoint a harbor master upon the request of a person desiring mooring privileges or the regulation of mooring privileges. Nothing in this subsection limits or expands a municipality's authority to regulate moorings under Title 38 or as otherwise provided in law. [PL 2005, c. 492, §3 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

RR 2003, c. 2, §22 (COR). PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 627, §§4,5 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 492, §§2,3 (AMD).

§13073. Harbor masters on inland waters; violations

A person who neglects or refuses to obey any lawful order of a harbor master authorized pursuant to section 13072 commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.