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Maine Revised Statutes

Title 12: CONSERVATION
Chapter 615: GENERAL LICENSE PROVISIONS

86301. GENERAL PROVISIONS

1. Resident license. Any individual who has been domiciled in Maine for the 6 months preceding the
date of application is eligible for aresident license. A corporation is eligible for aresident licenseif it has
been created and exists under the laws of Maine and it has existed in Maine during the 6 months preceding
the date of application. A firm or partnership iseligible if all of its officers or partners have been domiciled in
Maine for the 6 months preceding the date of application.

For the purposes of this chapter, aresident is a person who:
A. If registered to vote, isregistered in Maine; [ 1991, c. 692, (NEW.]

B. If licensed to drive a motor vehicle, has made application for aMaine motor vehicle operator's
license; [ 1991, c. 692, (NEW.]

C. If the owner of one or more motor vehicles located within the State, has registered at least one of the
motor vehiclesin Maine; and [ 1991, c. 692, (NEW.]

D. If required to file a Maine income tax return on the previous April 15th, filed a Maine income tax
return. [ 1991, c. 692, (NEW.]

[ 1991, c. 692, (AMD) .]

2. Expiration. A license or certificate issued by the commissioner expires on December 31st of the year
inwhich it isissued, except that:

A. A depuration certificate issued under section 6856 expires on April 30th of each year; [ 1993, c.
80, 81 (NEW.]

B. A shellfish license issued under section 6601 expires on April 30th of each year; [ 1993, c.
497, 81 (AMD).]

C. A marine worm digger's license issued under section 6751 expires on April 30th of each year;
[1995, c. 492, 81 (AWD).]

D. A shellfish sanitation certificate issued under section 6856 expires on May 31st of each year;
[ 2005, c. 434, 83 (AVD).]

E. A marine worm dealer's license issued under section 6853 expires on March 31st of each year;
[1995, c. 492, 83 (NEW; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

F. A marine worm dealer's supplemental license issued under section 6853 expires on March 31st of
eachyear; [ 1995, c. 492, 83 (NEW; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

G. A retail seafood license issued under section 6852 expires on March 31st of each year; [ 1995, c.
492, 83 (NEW; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

H. A wholesale seafood license with alobster permit issued under section 6851 expires on March 31st of
eachyear; [ 1995, c. 492, 83 (NEW; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

I. A wholesale seafood license issued under section 6851 expires on March 31st of each year; [ 1995,
c. 492, 83 (NEW,; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

J. A wholesale seafood license with a sea urchin buyer's permit issued under section 6851 expires on
March 31st of eachyear; [ 1995, c. 492, 83 (NEW; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]
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K. A wholesale seafood license with a sea urchin processor's permit issued under section 6851 expires on
March 31st of each year; [ 1995, c. 492, 83 (NEW,; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

L. A wholesale seafood supplemental license issued under section 6851 expires on March 31st of each
year; [ 1995, c. 492, 83 (NEW; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

M. A shellfish transportation license issued under section 6855 expires on March 31st of each year;
[1995, c. 492, 83 (NEW; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

N. A shellfish transportation supplemental license issued under section 6855 expires on March 31st of
eachyear; [ 1995, c. 492, 83 (NEW; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

O. A lobster meat permit issued under section 6857 expires on March 31st of each year; [ 1995, c.
492, 83 (NEW; 1995, c. 492, 85 (AFF).]

P. A lobster transportation license issued under section 6854 expires on March 31st of each year;
[1999, c. 491, 81 (AWVD); 1999, c. 491, 89 (AFF).]

Q. A lobster transportation supplemental license issued under section 6854 expires on March 31st of
eachyear; [ 2009, c. 523, 81 (AMD); 2009, c. 561, 87 (AMD).]

R. A wholesale seafood license with a shrimp permit issued under section 6851 expires on March 31st of
eachyear; [ 2011, c. 420, Pt. A 89 (RPR.]

S. An enhanced retail certificate issued under section 6852, subsection 2-A expires on March 31st of
eachyear; [ 2011, c. 598, 816 (AMD).]

(Paragraph Sas enacted by PL 2009, c. 523, 83 is REALLOCATED TO TITLE 12, SECTION 6301,
SUBSECTION 2, PARAGRAPH V)

T. A seaweed buyer's license issued under section 6803-A expires on March 31st of each year; [ 2009,
c. 2, 823 (COR).]

U. [2015, c. 68, §2 (RP).]

V. (REALLOCATED FROM T. 12, 86301, sub-82, S) A lobster processor license issued under section
6851-B expireson March 31st of each year; and [ 2013, c¢. 492, 82 (AMD).]

W. A commercia green crab only license issued under section 6808 expires on April 30th of each year.
[2013, c. 492, 83 (NEW.]

[ 2015, c. 68, 82 (AVD) .]
3. Nontransferable. A license or certificate shall not be transferable.
[ 1977, c. 661, 8§85 (NEW .]

4. Supplemental license. A supplemental license may only be issued for an establishment or vehicle
which is owned, leased or rented by the license holder.

[ 1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW .]

5. Information. When application information concerning any person, establishment or vehicle named
in alicense or certificate changes, the holder shall immediately notify the commissioner in writing within 3
business days or the license or certificate shall become void.

[ 1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW .]
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6. Owner ship identified. If alicense issued under chapter 625 isissued to afirm, corporation or
partnership, the individual who owns the highest percentage of that firm, corporation or partnership must
be identified on the license application. When 2 or more individuals own in equal proportion the highest
percentages of afirm, corporation or partnership, each of those owners must be identified.

[ 2013, c. 282, §1 (NEW .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW. 1985, c. 52, §1 (AMD). 1991, c. 692, (AMD).
1993, c. 80, §1 (AMD). 1993, c. 497, §81,2 (AMD). 1995 c. 492, §§1-3
(AVD). 1995, c. 492, §5 (AFF). 1999, c. 491, §81,2 (AVD). 1999, c.
491, §9 (AFF). 2005, c. 434, §3 (AVD). RR 2009, c. 2, §§22-24 (COR).
2009, c. 523, §81-3 (AMD). 2009, c. 561, 8§87-11 (AMD). 2011, c. 420,
Pt. A §9 (AMD). 2011, c. 598, §16 (AVD). 2013, c. 282, §1 (AWD).
2013, c. 492, §81-3 (AMD). 2015, c. 68, §2 (AMD).

86302. GENERAL EXCEPTIONS

Notwithstanding any licensing provision, alicense or certificate is not required for apersonto: [ 1997,
c. 544, 81 (AMD).]

1. Personal use. Possess or transport any marine organism that has been lawfully acquired and is for
personal use. A receipt or bill of saleisrequired for lawful acquisition;

[ 1997, c. 544, 8§81 (AWD) .]
2. Common carrier. Carry any marine organism by a common carrier; or
[ 2009, c. 523, 84 (AMD) .]

3. Hermetically sealed containers. Buy, sell, ship or transport within or beyond the state limits or
possess any marine organism that isin a hermetically sealed container.

[ 2009, c. 523, §5 (AMVD) .]

4. Retail sale of certain seafood products.
[ 2009, c. 523, 8 (RP) .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW. 1997, c. 544, §1 (AMD). 2009, c. 523, §§4-6
(AVD) .

86302-A. TAKING OF MARINE ORGANISMS BY FEDERALLY RECOGNIZED
INDIAN TRIBES

1. Tribal exemption; commercial harvesting licenses. A member of the Passamaquoddy Tribe,
Penobscot Nation, Aroostook Band of Micmacs or Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians who is aresident of the
State is not required to hold a state license or permit issued under section 6421, 6501, 6502-A, 6505-A, 6505-
C, 6535, 6601, 6602, 6701, 6702, 6703, 6731, 6745, 6746, 6748, 6748-A, 6748-D, 6751, 6803, 6804 or 6808
to conduct activities authorized under the state license or permit if that member holds avalid license issued by
the tribe, nation or band or the agent of the band to conduct the activities authorized under the state license or
permit. A member of the Passamaquoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Aroostook Band of Micmacs or Houlton
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Band of Maliseet Indiansissued atribal license pursuant to this subsection to conduct activitiesis subject to
all laws and rules applicable to a person who holds a state license or permit to conduct those activities and to
all the provisions of chapter 625, except that the member of the tribe, nation or band:

A. May utilize lobster traps tagged with trap tags issued by the tribe, nation or band or the agent of the
band in amanner consistent with trap tags issued pursuant to section 6431-B. A member of the tribe,
nation or band is not required to pay trap tag fees under section 6431-B if the tribe, nation or band or the
agent of the band issues that member trap tags, [ 2011, c. 598, 817 (AMD).]

B. May utilize elver fishing gear tagged with elver gear tags issued by the tribe, nation or band or the
agent of the band in amanner consistent with tags issued pursuant to section 6505-B. A member of
the tribe, nation or band is not required to pay elver fishing gear fees under section 6505-B if the tribe,
nation or band or the agent of the band issues that member elver fishing gear tags; and [ 2011, c.
598, 817 (AMD).]

C. Isnot required to hold a state shellfish license issued under section 6601 to obtain a municipal
shellfish license pursuant to section 6671. [ 1997, c¢. 708, 81 (NEW; 1997, c. 708,
83 (AFF).]

[ 2013, c. 254, §1 (AVD) .]

2. Tribal exemption; sustenance or ceremonial tribal use. Notwithstanding any other provision of
law, amember of the Passamaguoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Aroostook Band of Micmacs or Houlton
Band of Maliseet Indianswho is aresident of the State may at any time take, possess, transport and distribute:

A. Any marine organism, except lobster, for sustenance use if the tribal member holds a valid sustenance
fishing license issued by the tribe, nation or band or the agent of the band. A sustenance fishing license
holder who fishes for sea urchins may not harvest sea urchins out of season; [ 2011, c. 598, 8§17
(AND) . ]

B. Lobsters for sustenance use, if the tribal member holds a valid sustenance lobster license issued by
the tribe, nation or band or the agent of the band. The sustenance lobster license holder's traps must
be tagged with sustenance use trap tags issued by the tribe, nation or band or the agent of the band in
amanner consistent with trap tags issued pursuant to section 6431-B; however, a sustenance lobster
license holder may not harvest |obsters for sustenance use with more than 25 traps; and [ 2011, c.
598, 8§17 (AMD).]

C. Any marine organism for noncommercial usein atribal ceremony within the State, if the member
holds avalid ceremonial tribal permit issued to the tribal member by the Joint Tribal Council of

the Passamaquoddy Tribe or the governor and council at either Passamaguoddy reservation, by the
Penobscot Reservation Tribal Council, by the Aroostook Band of Micmacs Tribal Council or its agent
or by the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians Tribal Council or itsagent. [ 2013, c. 254, 8§82
(AMVD) . ]

For purposes of this subsection, "sustenance use" means all noncommercial consumption or noncommercial
use by any person within Passamaquoddy Indian territory, as defined in Title 30, section 6205, subsection 1,
Penobscot Indian territory, as defined in Title 30, section 6205, subsection 2, Aroostook Band Trust Land, as
defined in Title 30, section 7202, subsection 2, or Houlton Band Trust Land, as defined in Title 30, section
6203, subsection 2-A, or at any location within the State by atribal member, by atribal member'simmediate
family or within a tribal member's household. The term "sustenance use" does not include the sale of marine
organisms.

A member of the Passamaquoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Aroostook Band of Micmacs or Houlton Band

of Maliseet Indians who takes a marine organism under alicense or permit issued pursuant to this subsection
must comply with all laws and rules applicable to a person who holds a state license or permit that authorizes
the taking of that organism, except that a state law or rule that sets a season for the harvesting of amarine
organism does not apply to a member of the Passamaguoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Aroostook Band

of Micmacs or Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians who takes a marine organism for sustenance use or for
noncommercia usein atribal ceremony. A member of the Passamaquoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation,
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Aroostook Band of Micmacs or Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians issued alicense or permit under this
subsection is exempt from paying elver gear fees under section 6505-B or trap tag fees under section 6431-B
and is not required to hold a state shellfish license issued under section 6601 to obtain a municipal shellfish
license pursuant to section 6671. A member of the Passamaquoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Aroostook Band
of Micmacs or Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians who fishes for or takes lobster under alicense or permit
issued pursuant to this subsection must comply with the closed periods under section 6440.

[ 2013, c. 254, §2 (AMVD) .]

3. Lobster, sea urchin, scallop and elver licenses; limitations. Pursuant to subsection 1:

A. The Passamaguoddy Tribe and Penobscot Nation may each issue to members of itstribe or nation, as
the case may be, up to 24 commercial lobster and crab fishing licenses in any calendar year, including
all licenses equivalent to Class |, Class |1 or Class |11 licenses and student licenses, but not including
apprentice licenses. Licenses issued under this paragraph are subject to the eligibility requirements of
section 6421, subsection5; [ 2011, c¢. 598, 817 (AMD).]

A-1. The Aroostook Band of Micmacs or its agent may issue to members of the band up to 10
commercial lobster and crab fishing licenses in any calendar year, including all licenses equivalent to
Class|, Class |l or Class 111 licenses and student licenses, but not including apprentice licenses. Licenses
issued under this paragraph are subject to the eligibility requirements of section 6421, subsection 5;
[2011, c. 598, 817 (NEW.]

A-2. The Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or its agent may issue to members of the band up to 10
commercial lobster and crab fishing licenses in any calendar year, including all licenses equivalent to
Class|, Class 1l or Class 111 licenses and student licenses, but not including apprentice licenses. Licenses
issued under this paragraph are subject to the eligibility requirements of section 6421, subsection 5;
[2013, c. 254, 83 (NEW.]

B. The Passamaguoddy Tribe may not issue to members of the tribe more than 24 commercial licenses
for the taking of sea urchinsin any calendar year. Sea urchin licenses must be issued by zonein
accordance with section 6749-P; [ 2011, c. 598, 8§17 (AMD).]

C. The commissioner shall adopt rules authorizing the Penobscot Nation to issue to members of the
nation commercial sea urchin licensesif the commissioner determines that sea urchin resources are
sufficient to permit the issuance of new licenses. The commissioner may not authorize the Penobscot
Nation to issue more than 24 commercia sea urchin licenses to members of the nation in any calendar
year; [ 2011, c. 598, 817 (AMD).]

C-1. The commissioner shall adopt rules authorizing the Aroostook Band of Micmacs or its agent

to issue to members of the band commercial sea urchin licenses if the commissioner determines that
sea urchin resources are sufficient to permit the issuance of new licenses. The commissioner may not
authorize the Aroostook Band of Micmacs or its agent to issue more than 24 commercial sea urchin
licenses to members of the band in any calendar year; [ 2011, c. 598, 817 (NEW.]

C-2. The commissioner shall adopt rules authorizing the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or its agent
to issue to members of the band commercial sea urchin licenses if the commissioner determines that

sea urchin resources are sufficient to permit the issuance of new licenses. The commissioner may not
authorize the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or its agent to issue more than 24 commercia sea urchin
licenses to members of the band in any calendar year; [ 2013, c. 254, 83 (NEW.]

D. The Penobscot Nation may not issue to members of the nation more than 20 commercial licenses
for the taking of scallopsin any calendar year, except that the commissioner shall by rule allow the
Penobscot Nation to issue additional commercial licenses to members of the nation for the taking of
scallops if the commissioner determines that scallop resources are sufficient to permit the issuance of
new licenses, [ 2011, c. 598, 8§17 (AMD).]
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D-1. The Aroostook Band of Micmacs or its agent may not issue to members of the band more than 10
commercial licenses for the taking of scallopsin any calendar year, except that the commissioner shall
by rule allow the Aroostook Band of Micmacs or its agent to issue additional commercial licensesto
members of the band for the taking of scallopsif the commissioner determines that scallop resources are
sufficient to permit the issuance of new licenses; [ 2011, c¢. 598, 817 (NEW.]

D-2. The Passamaquoddy Tribe may not issue to members of the tribe more than 20 commercial licenses
for the taking of scallopsin any calendar year, except that the commissioner shall by rule allow the
Passamaquoddy Tribe to issue additional commercial licenses to members of the tribe for the taking of
scallops if the commissioner determines that scallop resources are sufficient to permit the issuance of
new licenses; [ 2013, c. 8, 81 (NEW.]

D-3. The Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or its agent may not issue to members of the band more than
10 commercial licenses for the taking of scallopsin any calendar year, except that the commissioner
shall by rule allow the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or its agent to issue additional commercial
licenses to members of the band for the taking of scallopsif the commissioner determines that scallop
resources are sufficient to permit the issuance of new licenses; [ 2013, c. 254, 83 (NEW.]

E. The Penobscot Nation may not issue to members of the nation commercial licenses for the taking of
elversin any calendar year that exceed the following limits:

(2) Eight licenses that alow the taking of elverswith 2 pieces of gear; and
(2) Forty licenses that alow the taking of elverswith one piece of gear.

The commissioner shall by rule allow the Penobscot Nation to issue additional commercial licensesto
members of the nation for the taking of elversif the commissioner and the Penobscot Nation determine
that elver resources are sufficient to permit the issuance of new licenses; [ 2015, c¢. 391, 83
(AND) . ]

E-1. The Passamagquoddy Tribe may issue to members of the tribe commercial licenses for the taking of
elverswith one piece of gear; [ 2015, c. 391, 84 (AMD).]

F. The Aroostook Band of Micmacs or its agent may not issue to members of the band more than 8
commercial licenses for the taking of elversin any calendar year, except that the commissioner shall
by rule allow the Aroostook Band of Micmacs or its agent to issue additional commercial licenses for
the taking of elversto members of the band if the commissioner determines that elver resources are
sufficient to permit the issuance of new licenses; and [ 2013, c¢. 8, 81 (AMD).]

G. The Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or its agent may not issue to members of the band more than
16 commercial licenses for the taking of elversin any calendar year except that the commissioner shall
by rule allow the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or its agent to issue additional commercial licenses
for the taking of elversto members of the band if the commissioner determinesthat elver resources are
sufficient to permit the issuance of new licenses. [ 2015, c. 391, 85 (RPR).]

The Passamaguoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Aroostook Band of Micmacs, Houlton Band of Maliseet
Indians and Department of Marine Resources shall report on the status of the sea urchin, scallop and elver
fisheries to the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over marine resources matters
by January 15th of each even-numbered year.

Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375,
subchapter 2-A.

[ 2015, c. 391, §§3-5 (AWD) .]

4. Sea urchin and scallop handfishing and tender licenses; limitations. The Passamaquoddy Tribe,
Penobscot Nation, Aroostook Band of Micmacs or its agent or Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or its agent
may not issue alicense or permit pursuant to subsection 1 or 2:
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A. For the harvesting of sea urchins or scallops by hand unless the license or permit applicant meets the
diver competency requirements of section 6531; and [ 1997, c. 708, 81 (NEW,; 1997, c.
708, 83 (AFF).]

B. For the tending of a person who fishes for or takes scallops or sea urchins by diving unless the
applicant meets the safety training requirements of section 6533. [ 1997, c¢. 708, 81 (NEW;
1997, c. 708, 83 (AFF).]

[ 2013, c. 254, §4 (AWD) .]

5. Notification. Subsections 1 and 2 do not apply to amember of the Passamaguoddy Tribe, Penobscot
Nation, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or Aroostook Band of Micmacs unless a copy of that member's
tribal license or permit is filed with the commissioner by the tribal licensing agency or its agent or atribal
officia in accordance with section 6027.

[ 2013, c. 8, 81 (AVD) .]

6. License suspension. If amember of the Passamaquoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Houlton Band of
Maliseet Indians or Aroostook Band of Micmacsissued alicense or permit under this section is convicted or
adjudicated of aviolation for which alicense suspension is mandatory under chapter 617, the commissioner
shall suspend that member's license or permit for the specified period. If a member of the Passamaguoddy
Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or Aroostook Band of Micmacsissued alicense
or permit under this section is convicted or adjudicated of a violation for which the commissioner may
suspend a license, the commissioner may suspend that member's license or permit in accordance with chapter
617.

[ 2013, c. 8, §1 (AWD) .]

7. Enforcement. A violation of amarine resources law or rule by amember of the Passamaguoddy
Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or Aroostook Band of Micmacs who isissued
alicense or permit pursuant to this section must be enforced pursuant to chapter 609. A member of the
Passamaqguoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or Aroostook Band of Micmacs
who isissued alicense or permit pursuant to this section must possess and exhibit that license or permit in
accordance with section 6305 and must comply with the provisions of section 6306 regarding inspections and
searches by marine patrol officers for violations related to licensed or permitted activities.

[ 2013, c. 8, §1 (AWD) .]

8. Resident of the State defined. For the purposes of this section, "resident of the State" means a
member of the Passamaguoddy Tribe, Penobscot Nation, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or Aroostook
Band of Micmacs who is eligible to obtain a state resident license under section 6301, subsection 1.

[ 2013, c. 8, 81 (AVD) .]

9. Palitical subdivision. Nothing in this section may be construed to indicate that the Passamaguoddy
Tribe, the Penobscot Nation, the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians or the Aroostook Band of Micmacsisa
political subdivision of the State.

[ 2013, c. 8, §1 (AWD) .]

10. Agent. For purposes of this section, an agent of the Aroostook Band of Micmacsis any entity
authorized by the Aroostook Band of Micmacs Tribal Council to act on its behalf under this section and an
agent of the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indiansis any entity authorized by the Houlton Band of Maliseet
Indians Tribal Council to act on its behalf under this section. The Aroostook Band of Micmacs Tribal Council
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shall certify to the department any agent it has designated to act on its behalf under this section. The Houlton
Band of Maliseet Indians Tribal Council shall certify to the department any agent it has designated to act on
its behalf under this section.

[ 2013, c. 8, §1 (AVD) .]

11. Renewal of licenses. If aholder of alicense issued under this section fails to provide information
required under section 6173, the license may not be renewed until the holder complies with the requirements
of that section.

[ 2013, c. 8, §1 (NEW .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1997, c. 708, §1 (NEW. 1997, c. 708, §3 (AFF). 1999, c. 491, §3 (AWD).
1999, c. 491, §9 (AFF). 2001, c. 421, §Bl4 (AMD). 2001, c. 421, §Cl
(AFF). 2009, c. 396, §1 (AMD). 2011, c. 137, §1 (AVD). 2011, c. 266,
Pt. A §2 (AMD). 2011, c. 598, §17 (AWMD). 2013, c. 8, §1 (AMD). 2013,
c. 9, 81 (AMD). 2013, c. 254, §81-4 (AMD). 2013, c. 485, §2 (AWD).
2013, c. 588, Pt. E, 8§85 (AMD). 2015, c. 391, §§3-5 (AMD).

86302-B. ELVER QUOTA FOR FEDERALLY RECOGNIZED INDIAN TRIBES IN
THE STATE

If the commissioner adopts an elver individual fishing quota system pursuant to section 6505-A,
subsection 3-A, this section governs the allocation of the elver quotato federally recognized Indian tribesin
the State. [ 2013, c¢. 485, 83 (NEW.]

1. Annual allocation. In accordance with section 6505-A, the commissioner shall annually alocate
21.9% of the overall annual quota of elver fishery annual landings to the federally recognized Indian tribes
in the State. If the Passamaquoddy Tribe, the Penobscot Nation, the Aroostook Band of Micmacs and the
Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians reach an agreement regarding the division of this 21.9% portion of the
overall annual quota among them and communicate in writing that agreement to the commissioner prior to
March 1st of the year in which the quota is alocated, the commissioner shall allocate that portion of the quota
in accordance with that agreement. If no agreement is reached, the commissioner shall allocate that portion of
the quota in accordance with the following:

A. To the Passamaquoddy Tribe, 14% of the overall annual quota; [ 2013, c¢. 485, 83 (NEW.]
B. To the Penobscot Nation, 6.4% of the overall annual quota; [ 2013, c. 485, 83 (NEW.]

C. To the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, 1.1% of the overall annual quota; and [ 2013, c. 485,
83 (NEW.]

D. To the Aroostook Band of Micmacs, 0.4% of the overall annual quota. [ 2013, c. 485, 8§83
(NEW . ]

In making any allocations under this subsection, the commissioner shall reserve a portion no greater than 10%
of each allocation in order to ensure that the quotais not exceeded.

[ 2013, c. 485, §3 (NEW .]

2. Individual allocations. The following provisions govern the allocation of the quotas established
under subsection 1 to members of each of the federally recognized Indian tribes.

A. The commissioner may enter into an agreement with afederally recognized Indian tribe in the State
that does not provide for individual allocations of the quota established under subsection 1 to members
of that tribe, nation or band. If the commissioner enters into an agreement pursuant to this paragraph, the
following provisions apply.
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(1) An elver transaction card under section 6305 must be issued to each person to whom the tribe,
nation or band issues a license under section 6302-A, subsection 3.

(2) The holder of alicense issued under section 6302-A, subsection 3 must meet the reporting
requirements established by rule pursuant to section 6173.

(3) The quota established under subsection 1 appliesto all elvers taken under licenses issued by the
tribe, nation or band under section 6302-A, subsection 3.

(4) When the quota established under subsection 1 is reached, the department shall notify the
tribe, nation or band. When the quota established under subsection 1 is reached, the holder of a
license issued by the tribe, nation or band under section 6302-A, subsection 3 may not thereafter
take, possess or sell elvers. Taking, possessing or selling elvers after the quota established under
subsection 1 is reached is deemed aviolation by the license holder of the prohibition on fishing in
excess of the person'sindividual quotain section 6505-A, subsection 3-A. [ 2015, c¢. 391,

86 (NEW.]

B. This paragraph governs the allocation of the quotas established in subsection 1 to members of a
federally recognized Indian tribe in the State when the commissioner has not entered into an agreement
with members of the tribe, nation or band under paragraph A that applies to members of that tribe, nation
or band.

(2) If thereis no agreement under paragraph A between the commissioner and the Passamaguoddy
Tribe, the Passamaguoddy Tribe shall allocate to each person to whom it issues alicense under
section 6302-A, subsection 3, paragraph E-1 a specific amount of the quota allocated to the
Passamaquoddy Tribe under subsection 1, paragraph A and shall provide documentation to the
department of that allocation for each individual license holder. The Passamaguoddy Tribe shall
alocate al of the quotathat it has been allocated and may not ater any individua allocations once
documentation has been provided to the department.

(2) If thereis no agreement under paragraph A between the commissioner and the Penobscot
Nation, the Penobscot Nation shall allocate to each person to whom it issues alicense under section
6302-A, subsection 3, paragraph E a specific amount of the quota allocated to the Penobscot
Nation under subsection 1, paragraph B and shall provide documentation to the department of that
allocation for each individual license holder. The Penobscot Nation shall allocate all of the quota
that it has been allocated and may not alter any individual allocations once documentation has been
provided to the department.

(3) If thereis no agreement under paragraph A between the commissioner and the Houlton Band
of Maliseet Indians, the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians shall allocate to each person to whom
it issues alicense under section 6302-A, subsection 3, paragraph G a specific amount of the quota
allocated to the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians under subsection 1, paragraph C and shall
provide documentation to the department of that allocation for each individual license holder. The
Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians shall allocate all of the quota that it has been allocated and may
not alter any individual allocations once documentation has been provided to the department.

(4) If there is no agreement under paragraph A between the commissioner and the Aroostook Band
of Micmacs, the Aroostook Band of Micmacs shall allocate to each person to whom it issues a
license under section 6302-A, subsection 3, paragraph F a specific amount of the quota allocated to
the Aroostook Band of Micmacs under subsection 1, paragraph D and shall provide documentation
to the department of that allocation for each individual license holder. The Aroostook Band of
Micmacs shall allocate all of the quotathat it has been allocated and may not alter any individual
allocations once documentation has been provided to the department. [ 2015, c¢. 391, §6

(NEW. ]

The department shall issue an elver transaction card under section 6305 to a person licensed by the
Passamaguoddy Tribe under section 6302-A, subsection 3, paragraph E-1, the Penobscot Nation under section
6302-A, subsection 3, paragraph E, the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians under section 6302-A, subsection 3,
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paragraph G or the Aroostook Band of Micmacs under section 6302-A, subsection 3, paragraph F only upon
receipt of adequate documentation specifying the individual quota allocated to that person by the tribe, nation
or band under this subsection.

[ 2015, c. 391, §6 (RPR) .]

3. Overage. If thetotal weight of elvers sold by persons licensed by the Passamaquoddy Tribe,
Penobscot Nation, Aroostook Band of Micmacs or Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians exceeds the quota
allocated under subsection 1 to that tribe, nation or band, the commissioner shall deduct the amount of the
overage from any future allocation to that tribe, nation or band. If the overage exceeds the overall annual
guota allocated to that tribe, nation or band for the following year, the overage must be deducted from the
overall annual quota allocations to that tribe, nation or band in subsequent years until the entire overage has
been accounted for.

[ 2013, c. 485, §3 (NEW .]

4. Emergency prohibition. The commissioner may adopt emergency rules to prohibit the
Passamaguoddy Tribe, the Penobscot Nation, the Aroostook Band of Micmacs or the Houlton Band of
Maliseet Indians from fishing for elvers under alicense issued under this Title if the commissioner finds that
the tribe, nation or band has authorized fishing for elversin away that the commissioner determines will
cause the tribe, nation or band to exceed the annual allocation set forth in subsection 1.

[ 2015, c. 391, §7 (NEW .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
2013, c. 485, 83 (NEW. 2015, c. 391, 886, 7 (AWD).

86303. APPLICATION
1. Forms. Application shall be made on forms furnished by the commissioner.
[ 1977, c. 661, 85 (NEW .]

2. Misrepresentation or error. Any license issued through misrepresentation or misstatement shall be
void. Any license issued through error shall be void after notice to the holder.

[ 1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW .]

3. Satisfactory answers. Failure or refusal to satisfactorily answer any question on or about the
application shall be abasis for denying the application.

[ 1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW.

86304. FEES
1. One-half fee after September 30th.

[ 1993, c. 499, §1 (RP) .]
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2. Duplication. Licensesthat have been lost or destroyed must be reissued at a cost of $6.
[ 2009, c. 213, Pt. G 81 (AVD) .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1977, c. 661, 85 (NEW. 1993, c. 499, 81 (AMD). 2003, c. 20, §WM
(AMD). 2009, c. 213, Pt. G 81 (AMD).

86305. POSSESSION OF LICENSE, PHOTO IDENTIFICATION AND
TRANSACTION CARD

1. Exhibit on demand. When any person is engaged in an activity that islicensed under marine
resources laws, that person shall have that licensein that person's actual possession and shall, on the request
of amarine patrol officer or other authorized person, exhibit that person’s license.

[ 2013, c. 468, §9 (AVD) .]

1-A. Photo identification. When a person is engaged in an activity for which alicense isrequired
under section 6302-A, subsection 3, paragraph E, E-1, F or G or section 6505-A, that person shall have
a government-issued identification card with that person's photograph and date of birth in that person's
actual possession and shall, on the request of a marine patrol officer or other authorized person, present the
government-issued identification card with that person's photograph and date of birth.

[ 2013, c. 468, §9 (AVD) .]

1-B. Elver transaction card. When aperson is engaged in an activity for which alicenseis required
under section 6302-A, subsection 3, paragraph E, E-1, F or G or section 6505-A, that person shall have the
elver transaction card issued by the department under section 6505-A to that person in that person's actual
possession and shall, on the request of a marine patrol officer or other authorized person, present the elver
transaction card.

[ 2013, c. 468, §9 (NEW .]

2. Primafacie evidence. A failureto exhibit alicense and an elver transaction card if an elver
transaction card is required within a reasonable time, when requested, is prima facie evidence that the person
isnot licensed.

[ 2013, c. 468, §9 (AVD) .]

3. Crew members. If crew members areincluded in the license for any operation, any bona fide crew
member may carry out that operation if the licenseisin that crew member's possession.

[ 2013, c. 468, §9 (AVD) .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1977, c. 661, 85 (NEW. 2013, c. 49, §2 (AMD). 2013, c. 468, 8§89 (AWD).

86306. CONSENT TO INSPECTION; VIOLATION

1. Consent to inspection. Any person who signs an application for alicense or aquaculture lease
or receives alicense or aguaculture lease under this Part has a duty to submit to inspection and search for
violations related to the licensed activities by a marine patrol officer under the following conditions.
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A. Watercraft or vehicles and the equipment located on watercraft or vehicles used primarily in atrade
or business requiring a license or aquaculture lease under this Part may be searched or inspected at any
time. [ 2009, c. 229, 814 (AMD).]

B. Any other location where activities subject to this Part are conducted may be inspected or searched
during the hours when those activitiesoccur. [ 1987, c. 713, 82 (NEW.]

C. A location specified in paragraph B may be inspected at any time if amarine patrol officer hasa
reasonable suspicion of aviolation of thisPart. [ 1987, c. 713, 82 (NEW.]

D. No residential dwelling may be searched without a search warrant unless otherwise allowed by law.
[1987, c. 713, 82 (NEW.]

[ 2009, c. 229, §14 (AVD) .]

2. Seizure of evidence. Any person who signs an application for alicense or aquaculture lease or
receives alicense or aguaculture lease under this Part has a duty to permit seizure of evidence of aviolation of
marine resources laws found during an inspection or search.

[ 2009, c. 229, §14 (AVD) .]

3. Refusal. Refusal to permit inspection or seizureis abasis for suspension of any or all licenses under
this chapter or revocation of aquaculture leases.

[ 2009, c. 229, §14 (AVD) .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW. 1987, c. 713, §2 (AVD). 1989, c. 348, 8§4 (AMD).
2009, c. 229, §14 (AWD).

86307. MISSTATEMENT OR MISREPRESENTATION

It shall be unlawful to intentionally or knowingly make a misstatement or misrepresentation on an
application for alicense or certificate. [ 1977, c. 661, 85 (NEW.]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW.

86308. COMPLIANCE WITH SUPPORT ORDERS; LICENSE QUALIFICATIONS
AND CONDITIONS

In addition to other qualifications for licensure or registration and conditions for continuing eligibility
to hold alicense as prescribed by the various acts of the department, applicants for licensure or registration,
licensees renewing their licenses and existing licensees must also comply with the requirements of Title 19-A,
section 2201. [ 1997, c. 537, 84 (AMD); 1997, c. 537, 862 (AFF).]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1993, c. 410, §V2 (NEW. 1995, c. 694, §D9 (AMD). 1995, c. 694, SE2
(AFF). 1997, c. 537, 84 (AWD). 1997, c. 537, 8§62 (AFF).

86309. LICENSEES NOT IN COMPLIANCE WITH A COURT ORDER OF
SUPPORT; ENFORCEMENT OF PARENTAL SUPPORT OBLIGATIONS

1. Definitions. Asused in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have
the following meanings.
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A. "Compliance with a support order" means that the support obligor has obtained or maintained health
insurance coverage if required by a support order and is:

(1) No more than 60 daysin arrears in making any of the following payments:
(a) Paymentsin full for current support;

(b) Periodic payments on a support arrearage pursuant to a written agreement with the
Department of Health and Human Services; and

(c) Periodic payments as set forth in a support order; and

(2) No more than 30 days in arrears in making payments as described in subparagraph (1) if the
obligor has been in arrears for more than 30 days in making payments as described in subparagraph
(2) at least 2 times within the past 24 months. [ 2003, c. 396, 83 (RPR); 2003, c.
689, Pt. B, 86 (REV).]

B. "Support order" means a judgment, decree or order, whether temporary, final or subject to
modification, issued by a court or an administrative agency of competent jurisdiction for the support
and maintenance of a child, including a child who has attained the age of majority under the law of the
issuing state, or a child and the parent with whom the child is living, that provides for monetary support,
health care, arrearages or reimbursement and may include related costs and fees, interest and penalties,
income withholding, attorney's fees and other relief. [ 2003, c¢. 396, 83 (RPR).]

[ 2003, c. 396, §3 (AMD); 2003, c. 689, Pt. B, 86 (REV) .]

2. Noncompliance with a support order. An applicant for the issuance or renewal of alicense or an
existing licensee regulated by the department under this subpart who is not in compliance with a support order
is subject to the requirements of Title 19-A, section 2201.

[ 2003, c. 396, §4 (ANVD) .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1993, c. 410, §V2 (NEW. 1995, c. 694, §DIO (AMD). 1995, c. 694, §E2
(AFF). 1997, c. 537, §5 (AMD). 1997, c. 537, §62 (AFF). 2003, c. 396,
§83,4 (AMD). 2003, c. 689, 8B6 (REV).

86310. APPEAL OF LICENSE DENIAL; ILLNESS OR MEDICAL CONDITION

1. Appeal of licensedenial. A person who isdenied aClass|, Class |l or Class |11 |obster and crab
fishing license because that person does not meet the digibility requirements of section 6421, subsection 5,
paragraph A; aperson who is denied a handfishing sea urchin license, a sea urchin dragging license or asea
urchin hand-raking and trapping license because that person does not meet the eligibility requirements of
section 6749-0, subsection 2-A; or a person who is denied a hand fishing scallop license or a scallop dragging
license because that person does not meet the eligibility requirements of section 6706, subsection 2 may
appeal to the commissioner under this section for areview of that license denial.

[ 2011, c. 266, Pt. A §3 (AWD) .]

2. Criteriafor licenseissuance on appeal. The commissioner may issue alicense on appeal only if the
criteriain this subsection are met.

A. A Class|, Class|l or Class 111 lobster and crab fishing license may be issued to a person on appeal
only if:

(1) A substantial illness or medical condition on the part of the person or afamily member
prevented that person from meeting the eligibility requirements for alicense in 1997, 1998 or 1999,
and the person documents that the person harvested lobsters while in possession of aClass|, Class
Il or Class |11 lobster and crab fishing license within one year prior to the onset of the illness or
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medical condition. The person shall provide the commissioner with documentation from a physician
describing the illness or other medical condition. A person may not regquest an appeal under this
subparagraph after December 31, 2001; or

(2) A substantial illness or medical condition on the part of the person or afamily member
prevented that person from meeting the eligibility requirements for alicense in licensing year
2000 or in subsequent years, and the person documents that the person harvested lobsters whilein
possession of aClass|, Class|l or Class 1 lobster and crab fishing license within one year prior
to the onset of theillness or medical condition. The person shall provide the commissioner with
documentation from a physician describing the illness or other medical condition. A person must
request an appeal under this subparagraph within one year of the onset of theillness or medical
condition. [ 2013, c. 319, 81 (AMD).]

B. A handfishing sea urchin license, a sea urchin dragging license or a sea urchin hand-raking and
trapping license may beissued to a person on appeal only if:

(1) A substantial illness or medical condition on the part of the person or afamily member
prevented that person from meeting the eligibility requirements for that license, and the person
documents that the person harvested sea urchins while in possession of the same license within
one year prior to the onset of the illness or medical condition. The person shall provide the
commissioner with documentation from a physician describing the illness or other medical
condition. A person must request an appeal under this subparagraph within one year of the onset of
theillness or medical condition. [ 2013, c. 319, 81 (AMD).]

C. A hand fishing scallop license or a scallop dragging license may be issued to a person on appea only
if:
(1) A substantia illness or medical condition on the part of the person or afamily member
prevented that person from meeting the eligibility requirements for that license, and the person
documents that the person harvested scallops while in possession of the same license within
one year prior to the onset of the iliness or medical condition. The person shall provide the
commissioner with documentation from a physician describing the illness or other medical
condition. A person must request an appeal under this subparagraph within one year of the onset of
theillness or medical condition. [ 2013, c. 319, 81 (AMD).]

For the purposes of this subsection, "family member" means a spouse, brother, sister, son-in-law, daughter-
in-law, parent by blood, parent by adoption, mother-in-law, father-in-law, child by blood, child by adoption,
stepchild, stepparent, grandchild or grandparent.

[ 2013, c. 319, §1 (AMVD) .]

3. Appeals process. A person appealing alicense denial under this section must request the appeal in
writing. The commissioner shall hold a hearing on the appeal if a hearing is requested in writing within 10
days of theinitial request for appeal. If ahearing is requested, it must be held within 30 days of the request
unless alonger period is mutually agreed to in writing, and it must be conducted in the Augusta area.

A hearing held under this subsection isinformal. At the hearing, the appellant may present any evidence
concerning the criteria listed in subsection 2 that might justify issuing alicense to the person, and the
commissioner may request any additional information the commissioner considers necessary. Any medical
information provided as part of the appeal is a confidential record for the purposes of Title 1, section 402,
subsection 3, paragraph A.

[ 1999, c. 643, §1 (NEW .]
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4. Issuance on appeal. Issuance of alicense on appeadl is at the discretion of the commissioner, except
that alicense may not be issued unless the criteriain subsection 2 are met. Decisions of the commissioner
must be in writing.

[ 1999, c. 643, §1 (NEW .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1999, c. 643, 81 (NEW. 2009, c. 188, §1 (AMD). 2009, c. 188, §3 (AFF).
2011, c. 266, Pt. A §§83, 4 (AVMD). 2013, c. 319, §1 (AVD).

86310-A. APPEAL OF LICENSE DENIAL; ARMED FORCES OR COAST
GUARD SERVICE

1. Appeal of license denial. A person who isdenied alicense for alimited entry fishery because
that person does not meet the eligibility requirements due to service in the United States Armed Forces
or the United States Coast Guard precluding that person from participating in the fishery may appeal to
the commissioner under this section for areview of that license denial. A license may be granted by the
commissioner under this section only if the person:

A. Documents that the person harvested the relevant species whilein possession of a fishing license for
that species within one year prior to entering the service; [ 2013, c. 319, 82 (NEW.]

B. Has not served for more than 10 consecutive years since the most recent year in which the person held
alicense; [ 2013, c. 319, 82 (NEW.]

C. Has not been dishonorably discharged from service; and [ 2013, c¢. 319, 82 (NEW.]

D. Requests an appeal under this section within one year of discharge from service. [ 2013, c.

319, 82 (NEW.]

Notwithstanding paragraphs B and D, alicense may be granted to a person pursuant to this section who is
actively serving in the United States Armed Forces or the United States Coast Guard for a period of more than
10 consecutive years as long as the person pays alicense fee for each year beyond those 10 years.

[ 2013, c. 319, §2 (NEW .]

2. Limited entry fishery. For purposes of this section, "limited entry fishery" means afishery in which
licenses are limited to individuals who have held alicense in the previous year or afishery that is otherwise
restricted by alimited entry system.

[ 2013, c. 319, §2 (NEW .]

3. Appeals process. A person appealing alicense denia under this section must request the appeal in
writing. The commissioner shall hold a hearing on the appeal if a hearing is requested in writing within 10
days of theinitia request for appeal. If ahearing is requested, it must be held within 30 days of the request
unless alonger period is mutually agreed to in writing, and it must be conducted in the Augusta area.

A hearing held under this subsection isinformal. At the hearing, the appellant may present any evidence
concerning the criterialisted in subsection 1 that might justify issuing alicense to the person, and the
commissioner may request any additional information the commissioner considers necessary.

[ 2013, c. 319, §2 (NEW .]
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4. |ssuance on appeal. Issuance of alicense on appeal is at the discretion of the commissioner, except
that alicense may not be issued unless the criteriain subsection 1 are met. Decisions of the commissioner
must be in writing.

[ 2013, c. 319, §2 (NEW .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
2013, c. 319, §2 (NEW.

86311. ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY MEMBERS

1. Definitions. Asused in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have
the following meanings.

A. "Active duty for aperiod of more than 30 days" has the same meaning as in 10 United States Code,
Section 101(d)(2). [ 2013, c. 319, 83 (NEW.]

B. "Limited entry fishery" means afishery in which licenses are limited to individuals who have held a
license in the previous year or afishery that is otherwise restricted by alimited entry system. [ 2013,
c. 319, 83 (NEW.]

[ 2013, c. 319, §3 (AVD) .]

2. Partial waiver of lobster apprenticerequirements. Notwithstanding Title 37-B, section 390-A or
any other provision of this Part, the commissioner shall waive a portion of the number of days and hours of
practical lobster fishing experience required under the apprentice program established pursuant to section
6422, subsection 1 for a person who is a member of the National Guard or the Reserves of the United States
Armed Forcesif:

A. The person was under an order to active duty for a period of more than 30 days; [ 2005, c¢. 111,
8§82 (NEW.]

B. The period of active duty conflicts with the requirements of the apprentice program; and [ 2005,

c. 111, 82 (NEW.]

C. The person was licensed pursuant to section 6421, subsection 1, paragraphsD and E. [ 2005, c.
111, 82 (NEW.]

Thiswaiver does not apply to the 2-year minimum required under section 6422, subsection 2.
[ 2005, c. 111, 82 (NEW .]

3. Waiver of licensing requirements. Notwithstanding Title 37-B, section 390-A or any other
provision of this Part, the commissioner shall waive the licensing eligibility requirements applicableto a
limited entry fishery for a person who is a member of the National Guard or the Reserves of the United States
Armed Forces and was under an order to active duty for a period of more than 30 days. This subsection
does not apply to a person who did not possess a license for that limited entry fishery at the time of or in the
calendar year prior to that person's being called to active duty. The waiver must be available for aperiod
of up to 10 consecutive years of service, with no license fees being assessed during that time. For years
consecutively served beyond 10 years, licensing eligibility requirements, other than licensing fees, must be
waived.

[ 2013, c. 319, §3 (AVD) .]

4. Limited application. This section appliesonly if the member's serviceisin support of:

A. An operationa mission for which members of the Reserves of the United States Armed Forces have
been ordered to active duty without volunteering for that mission; [ 2013, c. 319, 83 (AMD).]
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B. Forces activated during a period of war declared by the United States Congress or a period of national
emergency declared by the President of the United States or the United States Congress; or [ 2013,
c. 319, 83 (AMD).]

C. A response to a precipitating event for which the member was drafted or enlisted during a period of an
activedraft. [ 2013, c. 319, 83 (NEW.]

[ 2013, c. 319, §3 (AVD) .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
2005, c. 111, §2 (NEW. 2013, c. 319, §3 (AWD).

86311-A. STUDENT LICENSES AFTER MILITARY SERVICE

Anindividua who is eligible for a student lobster and crab fishing license under section 6421, subsection
1, paragraph E either when enlisted in the United States Armed Forces or United States Coast Guard or when
ordered to active duty in the National Guard or the Reserves of the United States Armed Forces may, upon
that individual's return from service, have that individual's eligibility regarding age extended by the number
of yearsthat individual was not able to purchase a student license due to this service, for a period of up to
10 years. In order to extend eligibility under this section, that individual must initiate the license application
within one year of that individual's return from service. [ 2013, c. 319, 84 (NEW.]

SECTI ON HI STORY
2013, c. 319, §4 (NEW.

86312. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING REGISTRY

1. Definitions. Asused in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have
the following meanings.

A. [2011, c. 421, §2 (RP).]
B. [2011, c. 421, 8§82 (RP).]

C. "Registry" meansthe registry for persons engaged in saltwater recreational fishing established under
subsection 2. [ 2009, c. 559, 82 (NEW; 2009, c. 559, 84 (AFF).]

[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (AVD) .]

2. Saltwater recreational fishing registry established. The commissioner shall administer and
maintain aregistry of persons who engage in saltwater recreational fishing in the coastal waters of the State.
The registry must at a minimum contain the name, address, date of birth and telephone number for each
person registered. Only an individual may register.

[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (AWVD) .]

3. Registration required. Unlessthe registry is suspended by rule under subsection 16, a person may
not engage in saltwater recreational fishing in the coastal waters of the State or land or possess fish taken from
the coastal waters of the State without registering pursuant to this section except that the following persons
are exempt from this prohibition :

A. A person under 16 yearsof age; [ 2009, c¢. 559, 82 (NEW; 2009, c. 559, 8&4
(AFF) . ]

B. A passenger on board a vessel captained by an individual who possesses avalid recreational fishing
operator's license pursuant to subsection 5; [ 2011, c. 421, 82 (AMD).]
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C. A person renting a smelt fishing camp from an operator that possesses a valid recreational fishing
operator's license pursuant to subsection 5; [ 2011, c. 421, 8§82 (AWVD).]

D. [2011, c. 421, §2 (RP).]
E. [2011, c. 421, 8§82 (RP).]
F. [2011, c. 421, §2 (RP).]

G. A resident fishing on July 4th, Labor Day weekend or Memorial Day weekend; [ 2011, c. 421,
82 (AVD).]

H. A person who has employed the guiding services of an individual who possesses a current guide
license for tidewater fishing as provided by rule pursuant to section 12853 and a valid recreational
fishing operator's license pursuant to subsection 5; [ 2011, c. 421, 82 (NEW.]

I. A person fishing from a dock, pier or wharf that is owned by an individual who possesses avalid
recreational fishing operator's license pursuant to subsection 5; [ 2011, c¢. 421, 82 (NEW.]

J. A person who holds and presents upon demand a current and valid registration or license to engagein
saltwater recreational fishing by a state that has been designated as an exempted state under 50 Code of
Federal Regulations, Section 600.1415; [ 2011, c. 421, 82 (NEW.]

K. A person registered on the National Saltwater Angler Registry through the United States Department
of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; [ 2011, c¢. 421, 82

(NEW . ]
L. A member of the Passamaguoddy Tribe, if the Passamaquoddy Tribe certifies to the commissioner

that it will collect the registry data required under subsection 2 from tribal members who engage in
saltwater recreational fishing and report the data to the commissioner; [ 2011, c. 421, §2

(NEW . ]

M. A member of the Penobscot Nation, if the Penobscot Nation certifies to the commissioner that it will
collect the registry data required under subsection 2 from members of the Penobscot Nation who engage
in saltwater recreational fishing and report the data to the commissioner; [ 2011, c¢. 421, 82
(NEW . ]

N. A member of the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, if the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians certifies
to the commissioner that it will collect the registry data required under subsection 2 from band members
who engage in saltwater recreationa fishing and report the data to the commissioner; and [ 2011, c.
421, 82 (NEW.]

O. A member of the Aroostook Band of Micmacs, if the Aroostook Band of Micmacs certifies to the
commissioner that it will collect the registry data required under subsection 2 from band members who
engage in saltwater recreational fishing and report the datato the commissioner. [ 2011, c. 421,

8§82 (NEW.]
Registration does not authorize a person to sell fish taken pursuant to the registry.

A person who hasindicated on avalid freshwater fishing license issued under Part 13 whether or not the
person engaged in saltwater recreational fishing during the prior year is not required to register under

this subsection. The Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife shall provide registry datafrom persons
exempted under this subsection regarding saltwater recreational fishing by these persons to the department at
atime and manner as determined by the department.

A person who hasindicated on avalid commercial fishing license issued under this Part whether or not
the person engaged in saltwater recreational fishing during the prior year is not required to register under
this subsection. The department shall collect data regarding saltwater recreational fishing by these persons
exempted under this subsection.

[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (AVD) .]
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4. Striped bass endor sement.
[ 2011, c. 421, 82 (RP) .]

5. Recreational fishing operator'slicense. The following persons are eligible to hold a recreational
fishing operator's license issued by the commissioner:

A. A captain of avessel licensed to carry passengers for hire for saltwater recreational fishing; [ 2011,
c. 421, 82 (AWD).]

B. A person operating a business that rents smelt fishing camps for saltwater recreational smelt fishing;
[2011, c. 421, 82 (AWVD).]

C. A person who owns a private dock, pier or wharf and makes that wharf available to customers for
the purpose of recreational fishing as part of acommercia enterprise; and [ 2011, c. 421, §2

(NEW . ]
D. Anindividual who possesses a current guide license for tidewater fishing as provided by rule pursuant
tosection 12853. [ 2011, c. 421, 82 (NEW.]

A person who holds arecreational fishing operator's license shall collect data from persons who engagein
saltwater recreational fishing and report the data to the commissioner as specified by the commissioner by
rule.

Thereisno fee for arecreational fishing operator's license.
[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (AVD) .]
6. Agent fee.
[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (RP) .]
7. Native American.
[ 2011, c. 421, 8§82 (RP) .]

8. Penalty. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which afine of not less than
$100 may be adjudged.

[ 2009, c. 559, §2 (NEW: 2009, c. 559, §4 (AFF) .]

9. Suspension. A person on the registry is subject to the applicable suspension provisions under chapter
617.

[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (AVD) .]

10. Collaboration on outreach efforts. The commissioner shall work with fishing and hunting groups
and interested parties in the commissioner's efforts to notify and educate the public about the registry.

[ 2009, c. 559, §2 (NEW; 2009, c. 559, §4 (AFF) .]

11. Report. The commissioner shall report registry information to the United States Department of
Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in aform and manner as required by the
Nationa Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

[ 2009, c. 559, §2 (NEW: 2009, c. 559, 84 (AFF) .]
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12. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules to carry out the purposes of this section. Rules adopted
pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined by Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

[ 2009, c. 559, §2 (NEW; 2009, c. 559, §4 (AFF) .]

13. Registration expiration. A registration issued under this section isvalid until December 31st of the
year in which it was issued. If applicable federal requirements allow, the commissioner may by rule extend
the period for which aregistration is valid.

[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (NEW .]

14. Registry procedures. A person may register pursuant to this section through an agent appointed
by the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife to issue licenses under section 12501, through a publicly
accessible online electronic system for registration operated by the department or at the department through a
department employee.

[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (NEW .]

15. Agent fees. A fee may not be charged for registering under this section. A person registering
through an agent under section 12501 may be charged an agent fee of $2 if the only transaction conducted
by that person is registering on the registry. A person registering on a publicly accessible online electronic
system for registration may be charged an agent fee of $1. A person registering at the department with a
department employee may be charged an agent fee of $1.

[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (NEW .]

16. Termination of registry requirement. If the Marine Recreational Information Program
administered by the United States Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration does not receive funding to conduct surveys and perform data analysis, the department by rule
shall suspend the registry. If the department suspends the registry, a person is not required to register under
this section in order to engage in saltwater recreational fishing.

[ 2011, c. 421, §2 (NEW .]

SECTI ON HI STORY
2009, c. 559, §2 (NEW. 2009, c. 559, 84 (AFF). 2011, c. 421, §2 (AWD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright inits codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrightsand other rightsto statutory text arereserved by the Sate of Maine. Thetext includedin this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legidatureand is current through October 1, 2016. Thetextissubject to
changewithout natice. It isa version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Satutes
Annotated and supplementsfor certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our god
isnot to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform ressarch for or providelegd advice or interpretation of Mainelaw to the public.
If you need legal assistance, please contact aqudified attorney.

| 22 . L . Generated
86312. Saltwater recreational fishing registry 10.13.2016




