§2505. Malfeasance

1. Falsification of certificate. A licensed public weighmaster who falsifies a weight certificate or who delegates authority to a person not licensed as a licensed public weighmaster or who preseals a weight certificate with the licensed public weighmaster's official seal before performing the act of weighing commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than \$100 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. E, §7 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

2. Misuse of seal. A holder of a corporate public weighmaster's license may not allow a person not licensed as a licensed public weighmaster to issue a weight certificate using the corporate seal.

A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. E, §7 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

B. A person who violates this subsection after having previously violated this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than \$1,000 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. E, §7 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. E, §7 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

3. Holder of corporate license. For the purposes of this section, the person whose name appears on the application for a corporate license pursuant to section 2501, subsection 2 is deemed to be the holder of the corporate license.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. E, §7 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1999, c. 646, §2 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §E7 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.