Maine Revised Statutes

Title 10: COMMERCE AND TRADE
Chapter 501: WEIGHTS AND MEASURES LAW

§2751. OFFENSES AND PENALTIES

A person who violates the following enumerated provisions or any provision of this chapter or rules
adopted pursuant thereto, for which a specific penalty has not been prescribed, commits a civil violation for
which aforfeiture must be adjudged in an amount not less than $50 nor more than $2,000. [ 1991, c.
650, 81 (AMD).]

A personmay not: [ 1991, c. 650, 81 (AMD).]

1. Useor havein possession. Use or have in possession for use in commerce any incorrect weight or
measure;

[ 1973, c. 91, §11 (RPR) .]

2. Removetag, seal or mark. Remove any tag, seal or mark from any weight or measure without
specific written authorization from the proper authority;

[ 1973, c. 91, 8§11 (RPR) .]

3. Hinder or obstruct. Hinder or obstruct any weights and measures official in the performance of that
official's duties;

[ 1991, c. 650, §1 (AMVD) .]

4. Use of scale. Use any scale that requires permanent installation that has been relocated without first
having the same tested and approved by the state sealer or a sealer;

[ 1991, c. 650, §1 (ANVD) .]

5. Sale of less quantity represented. Sell, or offer or expose for sale, less than the quantity the person
represents of any commodity, thing or service;

[ 1991, c. 650, §1 (AVD) .]

6. Take mor e quantity asbuyer. Take more than the quantity the person represents of any commodity,
thing or service when, as a buyer, the person furnishes the weight or measure by means of which the amount
of the commodity, thing or service is determined; or

[ 1991, c. 650, §1 (AMVD) .]

7. Commodity in unlawful condition. Keep for the purpose of sale, advertise or offer or expose for
sale, or sell any commodity, thing or service in a condition or manner contrary to law or rule.

[ 1991, c. 650, §1 (ANVD) .]
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The State of Maine clams a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this materia, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:
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