§3-205. Receipts; statements of account; evidence of payment

1. The creditor shall give or send to the consumer, without request, a written receipt for each payment by coin or currency on an obligation pursuant to a consumer credit transaction. A seller, but not an assignee, shall send, without request, a written receipt for each payment by money order on an obligation pursuant to a consumer credit sale. Sending to the customer a periodic statement showing a payment received by mail complies with this subsection, if it is sent to the debtor within 45 days after receipt of the payment.

[PL 1973, c. 762, §1 (NEW).]

2. Upon written request of the consumer, the person to whom an obligation is owed pursuant to a consumer credit transaction, other than one pursuant to open end credit, shall provide a written statement of the dates and amounts of payments made within the past 15 months and the total amount unpaid. The statement shall be provided without charge once during each year of the term of the obligation. If additional statements are requested, the creditor may charge not in excess of \$1 for each additional statement.

[PL 1973, c. 762, §1 (NEW).]

3. Within 30 days after the consumer has fulfilled all obligations with respect to a consumer credit transaction, other than one pursuant to open end credit, the person to whom the obligation was owed shall give or send to the consumer written evidence acknowledging payment in full of all obligations with respect to the transaction.

[PL 1973, c. 762, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1973, c. 762, §1 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.