MRS Title 7, §3935. LICENSE PROHIBITED

§3935. License prohibited

The department may not issue a license to maintain a boarding kennel, breeding kennel, animal
shelter or pet shop to a person who, within the 10 years previous to the application for the license, has
been convicted of murder, a Class A or Class B offense, a violation under Title 17-A, chapter 9, 11, 12
or 13 or a criminal violation under Title 17, chapter 42 or under a criminal law involving cruelty to
animals that is no longer in effect or, within 10 years previous to the application for the license, has
been adjudicated of a civil violation for cruelty to animals under chapter 739 or has been convicted or
adjudicated in any other state, provincial or federal court of a violation similar to those specified in this
section. [PL 2009, c. 343, §17 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 383, §3 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 468, §14 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 657, §35 (AMD). PL
2005, c. 422, §8 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 439, §21 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 343, §17 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include
the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects
changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November
1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State.
Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

1022023 §3935. License prohibited |1




