§739. Aroostook County finance committee

In Aroostook County, there is established a finance committee to carry out the purposes of this article. As used in this article, "county commissioners" means the county commissioners of Aroostook County. [PL 1989, c. 475, §§1, 2 (NEW).]

- 1. **Membership.** The finance committee shall consist of 9 members, 3 members from each commissioner district elected as provided in this subsection. The county commissioners shall designate 3 district subdivisions within each district from each of which one member of the finance committee shall be elected.
 - A. Finance committee members shall be elected on the Tuesday following the first Monday of November in each even-numbered year. Nominations for the office of finance committee member are to be nonpartisan and are to be made by petition in accordance with Title 21-A, chapter 5, subchapter II, except that candidates need not verify by oath or affirmation that they are not enrolled in a party and the number of signatures of voters on a nomination petition for a candidate in each district subdivision must be at least 25 and not more than 40. The election must be conducted and the results determined as provided for the election of county commissioners in section 61. [PL 1989, c. 475, §§1, 2 (NEW); PL 1989, c. 686 (AMD).]
 - B. Before the first election of finance committee members, the county commissioners shall designate 5 district subdivisions for which members of the finance committee shall serve initial terms of 4 years, and 4 district subdivisions for which members of the finance committee shall serve initial terms of 2 years. All subsequent terms are for 4 years. The county commissioners shall reapportion these subdivisions after each Federal Decennial Census. [PL 1989, c. 475, §§1, 2 (NEW).]
 - C. The finance committee shall annually elect a chair from among its members. [PL 1989, c. 475, §§1, 2 (NEW).]
 - D. A vacancy occurring on the finance committee shall be filled by the committee, subject to confirmation by a majority of the county commissioners, for the balance of the unexpired term. The person appointed to fill the vacant office must be from the same municipality or unorganized territory as the person vacating the office. [PL 1989, c. 475, §§1, 2 (NEW).]
 - E. Members shall serve without compensation. [PL 1989, c. 475, §§1, 2 (NEW).]
 - F. The county finance committee shall review and approve the budget and estimates, including the budget for municipal services in the unorganized territory prepared by the county commissioners. [PL 1989, c. 475, §§1, 2 (NEW).]

[PL 1989, c. 475, §§1, 2 (NEW); PL 1989, c. 686 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1989, c. 475, §§1,2 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 686 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.