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Title 29-A: MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC

Chapter 19: OPERATION

§2073. AUTHORITY TO REGULATE SPEEDS

1. Authority to regulate.  Except as provided in section 2075, subsection 2 and notwithstanding section
2074, subsection 1, the Commissioner of Transportation, with the approval of the Chief of the State Police,
may:

A. Restrict the maximum rate of speed on a public way where a speed limit will minimize the danger
of accident, promote the free flow of traffic, conserve motor fuel or respond to changes in federal laws;
[1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW);  1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

B. Increase the maximum rate of speed on a public way where higher speeds are warranted to promote
the normal and reasonable movement of traffic; or [1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); 
1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

C. Make an adjustment of maximum rates of speed. An adjustment under this paragraph is exempt from
the provisions of the Maine Administrative Procedure Act.

The commissioner may not set maximums that exceed 60 miles per hour or, on the interstate system or
other divided controlled-access highways, 75 miles per hour.

The commissioner may not set maximums for the Maine Turnpike. [2013, c. 107, §1
(AMD).]

[ 2013, c. 107, §1 (AMD) .]

2. Municipal request.  If a municipal request to the Department of Transportation to change a speed
limit is denied, the department shall inform the municipality in writing of the reasons for that denial and shall
offer to meet with the municipal officials in that municipality to review those reasons. The municipality may
request the department to hold a public hearing within the municipality to provide the department with the
views of the public on the requested speed limit change. The department shall:

A. Hold the hearing within 30 days of the request; and [1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); 
1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

B. Inform the municipality of a final decision on the requested speed limit change within 30 days after
the hearing. [1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW);  1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5
(AFF).]

[ 1999, c. 160, §1 (AMD) .]

3. Prohibition.  A person may not operate a vehicle in excess of maximum speeds fixed pursuant to this
section, as long as notice of changes in speed limits has been given by signs erected by the Department of
Transportation.

[ 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW);  1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF) .]

4. Other ways.  The Department of Transportation is not required to erect speed signs on a town way,
unimproved state aid highway or on a way constructed to interstate standards.

[ 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW);  1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF) .]
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Notwithstanding the provisions of Private and Special Law 1865, chapter 532, section 8-A, speed limits
within the limits of the property owned by or under the control of the University of Maine System must be
established by the Department of Transportation and the Maine State Police as provided in this section. The
speed limits must be posted by the University of Maine System in accordance with written directions or
policies of the Department of Transportation. [1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW);  1993, c.
683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]
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