§850-I. Notice

1. Posted notice. An employer shall post in a conspicuous place on each of its premises a workplace notice provided or approved by the department providing notice of benefits available under this subchapter. The department shall issue the workplace notice in English, Spanish, French, Somali and Portuguese and any other language that is the primary language of at least 2,000 residents of the State. The employer shall post the workplace notice in English and each language other than English that is the primary language of 3 or more employees of that workplace, if such notice is available from the department.

[PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

2. Written notice. An employer shall issue to each employee not more than 30 days from the beginning date of the employee's employment the following written information provided or approved by the department in the employee's primary language:

A. An explanation of the availability of family leave benefits and medical leave benefits provided under this subchapter, including rights to reinstatement of employment and continuation of health insurance; [PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

B. The employee's contribution amount and obligations under this subchapter; [PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

C. The name and mailing address of the employer; [PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

D. The identification number assigned to the employer by the administrator; [PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

E. Instructions on how to file a claim for family leave benefits or medical leave benefits; [PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

F. The mailing address, e-mail address and telephone number of the administrator; and [PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

G. Any other information deemed necessary by the administrator. [PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

[PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

3. Failure to comply. An employer that fails to comply with this section commits a civil violation for which must be assessed, for a first violation, a civil penalty of \$50 per employee and \$150 per employee for each subsequent violation. The employer has the burden of demonstrating compliance with this section.

[PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.