§850-G. Elective coverage

1. Self-employed individual. A self-employed individual, including an independent contractor, sole proprietor or partner, may elect coverage under this subchapter for an initial period of not less than 3 years. The self-employed individual shall file a notice of election in writing with the commissioner, as required by the department. The election becomes effective on the date of filing the notice. As a condition of election, the self-employed individual must agree to supply any information concerning wages that the department considers necessary.

[PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

- 2. Withdrawal from coverage. A self-employed individual who has elected coverage may withdraw from coverage within 30 days after the end of the 3-year period of coverage, or at such other times as the commissioner may prescribe by rule, by filing written notice with the commissioner. A withdrawal may not take effect sooner than 30 days after filing the notice.
- [PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]
- **3. Individual no longer self-employed.** An individual who has elected coverage under this section and is no longer a self-employed individual must be excused from that individual's obligations under this section, as the department prescribes by rule.

[PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

4. Tribal government. A tribal government may elect to be covered under this subchapter, or to terminate coverage, in the same manner as provided in this section, subject to such procedures as the department may require by rule.

[PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. AAA, §7 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.