§588. Penalties and enforcement

Actions to enforce this subchapter may be brought in accordance with this section. [PL 1997, c. 387, §2 (NEW).]

1. Civil violation. An employer who violates this subchapter or the rules adopted under this subchapter commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$1,000 for each violation, payable to the State, may be adjudged. Each day that the violation remains uncorrected following notice to the employer may be counted as a separate offense. The bureau may direct an employer to correct any violations in a manner and within a time frame that the bureau determines appropriate to ensure compliance with the rules or to protect the public health. Failure to correct violations within a time frame established by the bureau constitutes a separate finable offense. In the event of any violation of this subchapter, the Attorney General may seek to enjoin further violation, in addition to any other remedy.

[PL 1997, c. 387, §2 (NEW).]

2. Private right of action. A civil action may be brought against an employer of agricultural labor by any person aggrieved by a violation of this chapter or rules adopted under this subchapter. If the court finds that the employer violated this subchapter or a rule adopted under this subchapter, it may award damages of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 per plaintiff per violation, except that multiple infractions of a single rule under this subchapter constitute only one violation for the purposes of determining the amount of damages due a single plaintiff. In determining the amount of damages to be awarded, the court is authorized to consider whether an attempt was made to resolve the issues in dispute before resort to litigation.

[PL 1997, c. 387, §2 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1997, c. 387, §2 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.