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§2242.  Notice and registration requirements of transferees of structured settlements
1.  Notice.  A transferee of structured settlement payment rights that intends to do business in this 

State shall, prior to doing business, pay the appropriate fee at the rate established in section 601 and 
furnish notice to the superintendent to:

A.  Identify the state in which the transferee is domiciled;  [PL 1999, c. 268, §2 (NEW).]
B.  Identify the principal place of business of the group; and  [PL 1999, c. 268, §2 (NEW).]
C.  Provide such other information as may be required by the superintendent.  [PL 1999, c. 268, 
§2 (NEW).]

[PL 1999, c. 268, §2 (NEW).]
2.  Registration.  The transferee shall register with the superintendent and designate an agent solely 

for the purpose of receiving service of legal documents or process.
[PL 1999, c. 268, §2 (NEW).]

3.  Application of law.  Any transferee that was doing business in this State prior to the effective 
date of this chapter within 30 days after the effective date of this chapter shall furnish notice to the 
superintendent pursuant to the requirements of subsection 1 and shall comply with the requirements of 
subsection 2.
[PL 1999, c. 268, §2 (NEW).]

4.  Notice of change.  A transferee that intends to do business or is doing business in this State 
shall notify the superintendent within 10 days of any subsequent changes in any information or other 
items provided pursuant to this section.
[PL 1999, c. 268, §2 (NEW).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 1999, c. 268, §2 (NEW). 

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include 
the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects 
changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 
1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. 
Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our 
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to 
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the 
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.


