## §4143. Penalties

- 1. False or fraudulent statement in application. A person who intentionally or knowingly makes a false or fraudulent statement in or relating to an application for membership or for the purpose of obtaining money from or a benefit in any society commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. M, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- 2. Perjury. A person who intentionally or knowingly makes a false or fraudulent statement in any verified report or declaration under oath required or authorized by this chapter or of any material fact contained in a sworn statement concerning the death or disability of a member for the purpose of procuring payment of a benefit named in the certificate commits the crime of perjury and is subject to the penalties prescribed by law.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. M, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

**3.** Soliciting membership in society not licensed to do business. A person who solicits membership for or in any manner assists in procuring membership in a society not licensed to do business in this State commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$50 and not more than \$200 may be adjudged.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. M, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

**4. General penalty.** A person who intentionally or knowingly violates or neglects or refuses to comply with the provisions of this chapter for which a penalty is not otherwise prescribed is subject to the penalties under section 12-A.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. M, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 797, §11 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §M1 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.