## §2709. Notice of claim

**1.** There shall be a provision as follows:

Notice of claim: Written notice of claim must be given to the insurer within 20 days after the occurrence or commencement of any loss covered by the policy, or as soon thereafter as is reasonably possible. Notice given by or on behalf of the insured or the beneficiary to the insurer at (insert the location of such office as the insurer may designate for the purpose), or to any authorized agent of the insurer, with information sufficient to identify the insured, shall be deemed notice to the insurer. [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

2. In a policy providing a loss-of-time benefit that may be payable for at least 2 years, an insurer may at its option insert the following between the first and 2nd sentence of the above provision:

Subject to the qualifications set forth below, if the insured suffers loss of time on account of disability for which indemnity may be payable for at least 2 years, the insured shall, at least once in every 6 months after having given notice of the claim, give to the insurer notice of continuance of such disability, except in the event of legal incapacity. The period of 6 months following any filing of proof by the insured or any payment by the insurer on account of such claim or any denial of liability in whole or in part by the insurer must be excluded in applying this provision. Delay in the giving of such notice does not impair the insured's right to any indemnity that would otherwise have accrued during the period of 6 months preceding the date on which such notice is actually given.

[RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §238 (COR).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW). RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §238 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.