§2505. Grace period

There shall be a provision that a grace period of 30 days, or, at the option of the insurer, of one month of not less than 30 days, or of 4 weeks in the case of industrial life insurance policies the premiums for which are payable more frequently than monthly, shall be allowed within which the payment of any premium after the first may be made, during which period of grace the policy shall continue in full force. The insurer may impose an interest charge not in excess of 6% per annum for the number of days of grace elapsing before the payment of the premium, and, whether or not such interest charge is imposed, if a claim arises under the policy during such period of grace the amount of any premium due or overdue, together with interest and any deferred installment of the annual premium, may be deducted from the policy proceeds. Grace shall date from the premium due date specified in the policy. [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.