§1476. Activities of insurance adjusters

The following requirements govern the activities of insurance adjusters. [PL 1997, c. 592, §43 (NEW).]

- 1. Solicitation. An adjuster seeking to provide adjusting services to an insured for a fee to be paid by the insured may not offer an adjustment services contract to any person for at least 36 hours after an accident or occurrence as a result of which the person might have a potential claim. [PL 2019, c. 382, §3 (AMD).]
- 2. Contract provision. Any such adjustment services contract must contain a provision, prominently printed on the first page of the contract, stating that the person contracting with the adjuster has the option to rescind the contract within 2 business days after the contract is signed. [PL 1997, c. 592, §43 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1997, c. 592, §43 (NEW). PL 2019, c. 382, §3 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.