§1924. License or permits under repealed Title 32, chapter 38

1. License. Any license issued pursuant to repealed Title 32, section 2713, shall remain in effect for 6 years from January 1, 1978, provided a licensee shall apply annually and pay the annual fee to the commissioner provided in repealed Title 32, section 2713. This subsection shall not allow the erection of any sign, pursuant to that license, after January 1, 1978, nor shall this subsection allow the maintenance of any sign removed pursuant to sections 1915 and 1916. [PL 1981, c. 318, §4 (RPR).]

2. Fee permit. Any permit for which a fee is paid and which is issued pursuant to repealed Title 32, section 2714, shall remain in effect until the sign for which it is issued is removed pursuant to this chapter, provided a permittee shall apply annually and pay the annual fee to the commissioner provided in repealed Title 32, section 2714.

[PL 1981, c. 318, §4 (RPR).]

3. Existing directional signs. Upon implementation of this chapter, the commissioner may remove, or require to be removed, any existing directional sign erected and maintained pursuant to section 1153, Title 32, section 2722 prior to its repeal, and any sign erected and maintained pursuant to Title 32, section 2715 prior to its repeal, which does not qualify as an on-premises sign as defined by section 1914, or as an official business directional sign as defined by this chapter, no later than 6 years after January 1, 1978.

[PL 1981, c. 576, §8 (AMD); PL 2011, c. 115, §4 (REV).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1977, c. 494, §1 (NEW). PL 1977, c. 696, §§198-200 (AMD). PL 1979, c. 477, §16 (AMD). PL 1981, c. 318, §4 (RPR). PL 1981, c. 576, §8 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 115, §4 (REV).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.